Food pyramid: Simply eat healthy!

Reading time 5 minutes
Food pyramid: Simply eat healthy!

You want to eat healthier in the future? Great, congratulations on this smart decision. But somehow you're not quite sure what you need to follow from now on? You don't feel like counting calories and would like to have a simple guideline that can be easily integrated into your daily routine? Then the food pyramid is just right for you!

The food pyramid tells you what you should eat every day - and how much of it. It knows what is good for your body and helps you to maintain a healthy diet. food awareness to develop. The best thing is that you don't have to do almost anything. Taking a look at the food pyramid every now and then and eating accordingly is enough.

Ultimately, there's only one rule in the food pyramid: Your daily needs increase from the bottom to the top. Eat the most of the foods on the bottom level and consume the foods on the top level only occasionally. It can be as simple as that! You can find out which foods are on which level of the food pyramid below. The first level is the lowest, the sixth level is the top of the food pyramid.

Food pyramid Level 1: Liquid

The lowest level - and thus the foundation of the food pyramid - is liquid. Of course, you know that a large part of your body is water. Since your body loses fluid throughout the day, you should regularly add more.

For example, a fully grown person should have at least two and a half liters of water a day to consume. On hot summer days, when you are doing sports or are sick, your body naturally needs more. By the way, you already take in a certain amount of fluid through your food. You have to make up the rest with drinks.

For a bit of flavour, try tea or light fruit spritzers without added sugar. Drinking plenty of water also has another benefit: your cells are plumped up by the water and small wrinkles disappear. It's best to keep a full glass of water close at hand. This way, you'll be constantly reminded to drink and you'll reach for the water almost automatically.

Level 2: Fruit and vegetables

On the second and therefore most important level of the food pyramid are fruits and vegetables. Apples, bananas, carrots, lettuce, and the like are essential because they provide your body with important Vitamins and minerals provide. Try to eat at least five small portions of it every day. Five servings seem like a lot? Here's an idea on how to incorporate them into your diet:

It's best to eat fruit for breakfast. You can spice up your yoghurt with an apple, pear or berries, for example - or simply drink a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. In the morning, prepare a small fruit or vegetable plate. At lunchtime, prepare a salad as a side dish, followed by a piece of fruit or some raw vegetables to avoid the afternoon slump. For dinner you can have steamed vegetables - and in no time at all you've had five portions of fruit and vegetables.

Food pyramid level 3: Carbohydrates

On the third and thus middle level of the food pyramid are bread, potatoes, rice and pasta - carbohydrates. These give your body valuable fiber and thus ensure that your digestion remains in tact. The fact that carbohydrates make up an important level of the food pyramid has another reason: they ensure that you stay full longer and have less need to reach for unhealthy snacks.

It's best to use whole grain products as a source of carbohydrates. For example, have you ever eaten whole grain pasta? Their consistency is a bit firmer, but they have a great taste. At the bakery, you can go for spelt or rye bread. When you cook, make sure that carbohydrates are not the main part of your meal, but remain a side dish.

Level 4: Animal foodstuffs

Now you have reached the top half of the food pyramid. You should only eat a small amount of food that comes from animals. On the other hand, it is not advisable to completely avoid meat, fish and dairy products. This can lead to deficiency symptoms under certain circumstances. Many vegans therefore regularly turn to food supplements.

But why are animal foods important? Well, meat is a real protein bomb. Fish contains so-called omega-3 fatty acids, which your body cannot produce itself. And dairy products contain calcium, which is why they are good for your bones.

For example, it would be optimal to eat about three servings of meat and one serving of fish a week. Add to this a glass of milk or a small cup of yoghurt every day. Or try a delicious milkshake! This way you can perfectly combine your daily milk and fruit ration.

Food pyramid level 5: oil and fat

Now you have almost reached the top. At this point you will find oils and fats, which you mainly need for cooking and frying. Since the food pyramid recommends only a small amount of oil and fat daily, you should use it very sparingly. Often a few drops are enough for cooking or frying.

Basically vegetable fat more nutritious than animal oil. Whenever possible, you should therefore avoid butter and use olive oil, sesame oil, walnut oil, sunflower oil, linseed oil or rapeseed oil.

Unfortunately, many animal fats are hidden in food - for example in salami, sausage, ready meals and many other foods. So check the back of the packaging every now and then. This will give you a good awareness of which foods contain hidden fats.

Food pyramid Level 6: Luxury foods

You have almost made it and have reached the top: On level six are sweets, crisps, chips, chocolate, alcohol, cola and co. And there's a good reason for this, because all these foods and stimulants contain above-average amounts of sugar and fat.

They taste delicious, but give your body almost no nutrients. Therefore, make sure to consume the top level of the food pyramid only occasionally. Of course, you don't have to forbid yourself anything or categorically exclude certain things. Just make sure that stimulants do not get the upper hand. Because the dose makes the poison.

Food pyramid - it couldn't be simpler!

Well, did the food pyramid live up to its promise? We think it's a great way to eat healthy for the long term. It illustrates at a glance which foods you should consume and to what extent. There are no foods that you can't or shouldn't eat. Everything is allowed as long as it stays in moderation. Sounds good? Then give the food pyramid a try! Have fun with it!

Greator Meditation Challenge

We take you on an exciting journey:
Five days, five meditations. Are you with us?
PARTICIPATE now for free
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

Greator SloganGreator Awards
Data privacy
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2024