Greator

Mantra - Discover the spiritual power and use its energy for yourself

Reading time 7 minutes
Mantra - Discover the spiritual power and use its energy for yourself

What is Mantra? A mantra can be a syllable, a word or a phrase. Often the mantra is spoken or chanted like a prayer. In Indian yoga philosophy, the magical words are considered to support the expansion of consciousness.

The term mantra comes from Sanskrit. The sacred language of Hinduism translates the term as "protection of the mind", as it is composed of the words manas (mind) as well as tra (protection).

In daily life, a mantra serves to give courage, give strength, comfort or inspire. Mantras are considered tools of the mind, whose effect depends on the sound quality, frequency and intensity with which they are used.

Mantra meaning: what are they actually?

What is a mantra actually? The term comes from the ancient Indian language Sanskrit. In southeast Asia, the sacred syllables, words or verses have been known for thousands of years. The mantra has its origin in the early Indian cultures. Mongolian and Tibetan peoples have also contributed to the origin of mantras with their traditions and customs. Shamanic seers are said to have noticed the positive effect of rhythmically speaking or singing a mantra.

In earlier times, a certain mantra was passed on from teacher to student. This mantra can be a syllable, a whole word or a complete sentence.

The special sound of the mantra is said to have a direct influence on brain activity and well-being. However, the full effect of a mantra only unfolds when it is repeated, spoken, chanted, whispered or recited for at least 10 to 15 minutes. You can also repeat your mantra in your mind if you are in an environment where you cannot recite it aloud.

What does mantra mean in our modern society? In yoga, the mantra serves to activate the chakras. In everyday life, the power of words can be used to:

  • Self-confidence Build
  • Gain inner strength
  • As inspiration
  • Improve mood
  • Overcome challenges
mantra meaning

How do mantras work?

Each mantra has a certain effect. There are healing mantras, short mantras and positive mantras. Unlike the affirmation, whose effect is to be classified on the mind level, a mantra works on the sound level. Therefore, thinking about the meaning of the syllables is only secondary.

If you want to activate the effect of your mantra, pay attention to the tones. Conscious devotion, such as when meditating, is said to favor the flow of energy. The technique used to internalize a mantra is often the same as an affirmation.

Similar to affirmations, mantras are chanted, spoken aloud or repeated softly in the mind. The constant repetition causes the emergence of certain sound vibrations. This creates healing and empowering energies that permeate the entire body and touch the soul.

Mantras help to focus thoughts

There are a variety of mantras that are suitable to connect us with our soul, make us sensitive to sensations or help us focus thoughts. In spiritual practices such as yoga and meditation, the mantra is used to enter a meditative state.

The magic of mantras is that they help with frequent repetition, dissolve negative beliefs and to set personality development in motion. Since the increase in intensity when reciting or chanting a mantra leads to a deep meditative trance, the method is ideal for the Relax.

The 10 most popular mantras and what they mean

The most popular mantras are many centuries old. They were used in Hinduism and Buddhism and are still practiced today during yoga and meditation exercises. In this mantras list you will find the 10 most popular mantras and their meaning.

1. "Om" - the most important mantra

This word has been used for more than 2,000 years. The sacred syllable "Om" is derived from the letter AUM. This stands for the Trinity. The Om mantra is considered the sound of the universe.

2. "Hare Krishna

Hare Krishna is called the great mantra (mahamantra) in the Hindu faith and is the most important mantra in Vishnuism. By repeating this mantra, disturbing thoughts are supposed to be blocked out. The soul enters into resonance with the Supreme. We become free for the joy that is inherent in every living being.

3. "Om Mani Padme Hum"

As the oldest mantra of Tibetan Buddhism, the phrase Om Mani Padme Hum stands for deep compassion. There is no direct translation of the six syllables. However, it is assumed that the six transcendent virtues of Buddhism (Paramita) are meant.

4. "Om Namah Shivaya"

Om Namah Shivaya is the most important mantra in Shivaism. In this denomination of Hinduism, Shiva is considered the central deity. The Shiva mantra is associated with the "lucky charm". However, Shiva is also the god of destruction, change and constant new beginnings.

5. "Sat-Chit-Ananda

The three Sanskrit words Sat, Chit and Ananda are meant to describe nature in its highest reality. As the three qualities of Brahman (the unchanging, immortal, absolute, and supreme), the words Sat-Chit-Ananda represent the realization of the oneness of all being.

6. "Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu"

Translated, this means Mangala Mantra (Mantra of Compassion): May all living beings experience happiness, love and harmony. In yoga teachings, the compassion mantra plays a major role. Often a yoga session is concluded with the recitation of the Mangala Mantra. The verse is also often used during meditations.

7. "Om Vasudhare Svaha"

The so-called money mantra originates from Buddhist teachings. In this religion of experience, it is traditional to repeat this mantra 108 times. The frequent repetition is supposed to cause the person to be showered with prosperity by the goddess Vasudhara. For Hindus and Buddhists, the number 108 is associated with profound symbolism. Thus, Hindu deities have 108 names, while in Tibetan Buddhism there are 108 earthly desires or passions.

8. "So Ham"

The syllables So Ham are translated as "I am THAT". The mantra is supposed to express the unity between the real experienced world ("So") as well as the experiencing consciousness ("Ham"). So Ham is considered the sound of breathing. In this context, So symbolizes inhaling and Ham symbolizes exhaling. The So Ham mantra is usually said or thought while meditating, while simultaneously listening to and concentrating on breathing.

9. "Om A Ra Pa Ca Na Dhih"

The Buddhist mantra Om A Ra Pa Ca Na Dhih is associated with the deity Manjushri. This Manjushri mantra belongs to the three great Bodhisattvas in Buddhism. The beings (bodhisattvas) who strive for the highest realization each have their own mantra. Manjushri is the guardian of wisdom, learning and knowledge. The five syllables of this mantra have no clear conceptual meaning themselves, but they are associated with knowledge and wisdom.

10. "Om Tat Sat"

The sound sequence Om Tat Sat (also: Hari Om Tat Sat) is often said at the end of a speech in Hinduism. The mantra can be translated as: May what is said lead us to the highest truth. The parallels to Christian religious teachings are striking here. The Christian Amen has a similar meaning, namely: so be it or we trust.

what is a mantra

How do I use my mantra in everyday life?

In Far Eastern religions such as Hinduism or Buddhism, mantras are incorporated into prayers. In yoga and meditation, the mantra is used to relax and help release certain energies. Basically, mantras are helpful in any situation. The syllables, words or sayings are easy to remember and can be used in everyday life anywhere and at any time.

Use your mantra as:

  • Motivation
  • Inspiration
  • Relaxation aid
  • Encourager

Reciting a mantra helps when you are down or anxious. Give yourself courage by reciting your mantra out loud in a firm voice. If you are angry or irritated, a mantra as a relaxation aid helps to calm you down again.

On days when somehow everything goes wrong, a mantra has an uplifting and motivating effect. Take your time to find a suitable mantra. Choose a mantra from the variety that suits you.

Visualize your mantra

Practice the sentence by first reading it slowly to yourself. Try to understand the meaning of the phrase. Internalize your mantra by repeating it often. You can recite your mantra out loud anywhere, in the shower, on the way to the bus stop, or while jogging through the park.

If you are in an environment where speaking or chanting aloud is not possible, visualize your mantra! Write your chosen mantra on a piece of paper and pin it to your bulletin board so you can always see it.

Regular rituals help to strengthen the effect of the mantra. A short mantra like OM is suitable to say while inhaling and exhaling. Repeat your mantra as often as it feels good to you. You can say it out loud, chant it, or meditate on it.

YouTube video

15 mantra examples to inspire you

Nowadays, millions of different mantras exist. There are certain sayings for every possible life situation, which fit exactly to the topic. In Buddhism and Hinduism, the sacred verses are divided into two different supergroups, the Moksha mantras, which are supposed to lead to liberation and enlightenment, and the Siddhi mantras, which are supposed to release energies and powers.

We have divided our mantra examples into healing, short and positive mantras.

Healing mantras

  • There is something good everywhere and always, I just need to see it
  • I am grateful for all the love I get
  • In the calm lies the power
  • I am ready to forgive and to forgive.
  • I make myself free from negative feelings

Short mantras

  • I am worth something
  • I can do this
  • The universe supports me
  • I get stronger every day
  • Happiness is within myself

Positive mantras

  • Everything I experience makes me grow inside.
  • I love every minute of my life.
  • The Past I let rest and concentrate on the future.
  • I think positively and live a positive life.
  • I can, I will and I will.

Conclusion

A mantra releases the positive power within us. The phrases called sacred verses in Hinduism and Buddhism have an encouraging, motivating and inspiring effect. There are short and long, healing and positive mantras. Repeat your mantra regularly so that it unfolds its full effect.

Likewise how positive beliefs the mantra helps to release inner blockages and strengthen your mindset. Practice regularly by chanting, singing or visualizing your mantra. You'll soon feel your stress level drop and face daily challenges with more confidence.

GREATOR FESTIVAL 2022

29 & 30 JULY 2022 - LANXESS ARENA COLOGNE

2 days of unstoppable growth. At largest festival for personal development. Meet inspiring people from around the world and get swept up in the energy of the community.
100+
Speaker
10.000+
Like-minded
5+
Stages
EXPERIENCE MORE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

Greator Magazine

Greator Slogan
Helpcenter
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2022
chevron-down

Greator

Mantra – Entdecke die spirituelle Kraft und nutze seine Energie für dich

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Mantra – Entdecke die spirituelle Kraft und nutze seine Energie für dich

Was ist Mantra? Ein Mantra kann eine Silbe, ein Wort oder ein Satz sein. Oft wird das Mantra wie ein Gebet gesprochen oder gesungen. In der indischen Yoga-Philosophie werden die magischen Worte als Unterstützung zur Bewusstseins-Erweiterung betrachtet.

Der Begriff Mantra stammt aus dem Sanskrit. Die heilige Sprache des Hinduismus übersetzt die Bezeichnung mit „Schutz des Geistes“, da sie sich aus den Worten Manas (Geist) sowie tra (Schutz) zusammensetzt.

Im täglichen Leben dient ein Mantra dazu, Mut zu machen, Kraft zu spenden, zu trösten oder zu inspirieren. Mantras gelten als Werkzeuge des Geistes, deren Wirkung von der Klangqualität, der Häufigkeit und Intensität, mit der sie verwendet werden, abhängt.

Mantra Bedeutung: was sind sie eigentlich?

Was ist ein Mantra eigentlich? Die Bezeichnung stammt aus der altindischen Sprache Sanskrit. Im Südosten Asiens sind die heiligen Silben, Worte oder Verse schon seit Jahrtausenden bekannt. Seinen Ursprung hat das Mantra in den frühen indischen Kulturen. Auch mongolische und tibetische Völker haben mit ihren Traditionen und Bräuchen einen Beitrag zur Entstehung der Mantras geleistet. So sollen schamanische Seher die positive Wirkung des rhythmischen Sprechens oder Singens eines Mantras bemerkt haben.

In früheren Zeiten wurde ein bestimmtes Mantra jeweils vom Lehrer an seinen Schüler weitergegeben. Bei diesem Sinnspruch kann es sich um eine Wortsilbe, ein ganzes Wort oder um einen vollständigen Satz handeln.

Der besondere Klang des Mantras soll einen direkten Einfluss auf die Gehirnaktivität und das Wohlbefinden haben. Die volle Wirkung eines Mantras entfaltet sich jedoch erst, wenn es mindestens 10 bis 15 Minuten wiederholt, gesprochen, gesungen, geflüstert oder rezitiert wird. Du kannst dein Mantra auch in Gedanken wiederholen, wenn du dich in einer Umgebung befindest, in der du es nicht laut aufsagen kannst.

Was bedeutet Mantra in unserer modernen Gesellschaft? Beim Yoga dient das Mantra zur Aktivierung der Chakren. Im Alltag lässt sich die Kraft der Worte einsetzen, um:

  • Selbstvertrauen aufbauen
  • Innere Stärke erlangen
  • Als Inspiration
  • Stimmung verbessern
  • Herausforderungen bewältigen
mantra bedeutung

Wie wirken Mantras?

Jedes Mantra hat eine bestimmte Wirkung. Es gibt heilende Mantras, kurze Mantras und positive Mantras. Im Gegensatz zur Affirmation, deren Wirkung auf der Verstandesebene einzuordnen ist, wirkt ein Mantra auf der Klangebene. Das Nachdenken über den Sinn der Silben ist deshalb nur zweitrangig.

Willst du die Wirkung deines Mantras aktivieren, dann achte auf die Töne. Bewusste Hingabe, wie etwa beim Meditieren, soll den Energiefluss begünstigen. Die Technik, die genutzt wird, um ein Mantra zu verinnerlichen, ist häufig die Gleiche wie bei einer Affirmation.

Ähnlich wie Affirmationen werden Mantras gesungen, laut ausgesprochen oder leise im Geist wiederholt. Die ständige Wiederholung bewirkt das Entstehen bestimmter Klang-Schwingungen. Dabei bilden sich heilsame und kraftspendende Energien, die den gesamten Körper durchdringen und die Seele berühren.

Mantras helfen, um Gedanken zu fokussieren

Es gibt eine Vielzahl Mantras, die geeignet sind, uns mit unserer Seele zu verbinden, uns feinfühlig für Empfindungen zu machen oder uns helfen, Gedanken zu fokussieren. In spirituellen Praktiken wie Yoga und Meditation wird das Mantra genutzt, um in einen meditativen Zustand zu gelangen.

Die Magie der Mantras besteht darin, dass sie bei häufiger Wiederholung helfen, negative Glaubenssätze aufzulösen und die Persönlichkeitsentwicklung in Gang zu bringen. Da die Steigerung der Intensität beim Vortragen oder Singen eines Mantras zu einer tiefen meditativen Trance führt, eignet sich die Methode ideal zum Entspannen.

Die 10 beliebtesten Mantras und was sie bedeuten

Die beliebtesten Mantras sind viele Jahrhunderte alt. Sie wurden im Hinduismus und Buddhismus verwendet und werden heute noch bei Yoga- und Meditations-Übungen praktiziert. In dieser Mantras Liste findest du die 10 beliebtesten Mantras und deren Bedeutung.

1. „Om” – das wichtigste Mantra

Seit mehr als 2.000 Jahren wird dieses Wort schon verwendet. Die heilige Silbe „Om“ leitet sich vom Buchstaben AUM ab. Dieser steht für die Dreieinigkeit. Das Om-Mantra gilt als Klang des Universums.

2. „Hare Krishna”

Hare Krishna wird in der hinduistischen Glaubensrichtung als das große Mantra (Mahamantra) bezeichnet und ist im Vishnuismus das wichtigste Mantra. Durch das Wiederholen dieses Mantras sollen störende Gedanken ausgeblendet werden. Die Seele tritt in Resonanz mit dem Höchsten. Wir werden frei für die Freude, die jedem Lebewesen innewohnt.

3. „Om Mani Padme Hum”

Als ältestes Mantra des tibetischen Buddhismus steht der Satz Om Mani Padme Hum für tiefes Mitgefühl. Eine direkte Übersetzung der sechs Silben gibt es nicht. Jedoch wird davon ausgegangen, dass damit die sechs transzendenten Tugenden des Buddhismus (Paramita) gemeint sind.

4. „Om Namah Shivaya”

Om Namah Shivaya ist das wichtigste Mantra im Shivaismus. Bei dieser Glaubensrichtung im Hinduismus gilt Shiva als zentrale Gottheit. Das Shiva-Mantra wird mit dem „Glücksbringer“ in Verbindung gebracht. Shiva ist allerdings auch der Gott der Zerstörung, des Wandels und des ständigen Neuanfangs.

5. „Sat-Chit-Ananda”

Die drei Sanskrit-Wörter Sat, Chit und Ananda sollen die Natur in ihrer höchsten Realität beschreiben. Als die drei Eigenschaften des Brahman (das unwandelbare, unsterbliche, Absolute und das Höchste) stehen die Worte Sat-Chit-Ananda für die Erkenntnis der Einheit allen Seins.

6. „Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu”

Übersetzt bedeutet dieses Mangala-Mantra (Mantra des Mitgefühls): Mögen alle Lebewesen Glück, Liebe und Harmonie erfahren. In der Yogalehre spielt das Mitgefühl-Mantra eine große Rolle. Oft wird eine Yoga-Session mit dem Aufsagen des Mangala-Mantra abgeschlossen. Der Vers wird außerdem gern bei Meditationen eingesetzt.

7. „Om Vasudhare Svaha”

Das sogenannte Geld-Mantra stammt aus der buddhistischen Lehre. In dieser Erfahrungsreligion ist es Tradition, dieses Mantra 108 Mal zu wiederholen. Die häufige Wiederholung soll bewirken, dass die Person von der Göttin Vasudhara mit Wohlstand überschüttet wird. Für Hindus und Buddhisten ist die Zahl 108 mit einer tiefgründigen Symbolik verbunden. So haben hinduistische Gottheiten 108 Namen, während es im tibetischen Buddhismus 108 irdische Sehnsüchte oder Leidenschaften gibt.

8. „So Ham”

Die Silben So Ham werden mit „Ich bin DAS“ übersetzt. Das Mantra soll die Einheit zwischen der real erlebten Welt („So“) sowie dem erlebenden Bewusstsein („Ham“) ausdrücken. So Ham gilt als der Klang der Atmung. In diesem Zusammenhang symbolisiert So das Einatmen und Ham das Ausatmen. Das So-Ham-Mantra wird meistens beim Meditieren gesagt oder gedacht, während man gleichzeitig der Atmung zuhört und sich auf das Atmen konzentriert.

9. „Om A Ra Pa Ca Na Dhih”

Das buddhistische Mantra Om A Ra Pa Ca Na Dhih ist der Gottheit Manjushri zugeordnet. Dieses Manjushri-Mantra gehört zu den drei großen Bodhisattvas im Buddhismus. Die nach höchster Erkenntnis strebenden Wesen (Bodhisattvas) haben jeweils ein eigenes Mantra. Manjushri ist der Hüter der Weisheit, des Lernens und des Wissens. Die fünf Silben dieses Mantras haben zwar selbst keine eindeutige begriffliche Bedeutung, allerdings werden sie mit Wissen und Weisheit in Verbindung gebracht.

10. „Om Tat Sat”

Die Klangfolge Om Tat Sat (auch: Hari Om Tat Sat) wird im Hinduismus oft am Ende einer Rede gesagt. Das Mantra kann übersetzt werden mit: Möge uns das Gesagte zur höchsten Wahrheit führen. Auffällig sind hier die Parallelen zur christlichen Religionslehre. Das christliche Amen hat eine ähnliche Bedeutung, nämlich: so geschehe es oder wir vertrauen darauf.

was ist ein mantra

Wie setze ich mein Mantra im Alltag ein?

In fernöstlichen Religionen wie dem Hinduismus oder dem Buddhismus werden Mantras in die Gebete eingebunden. Beim Yoga und beim Meditieren dient das Mantra zum Entspannen und soll dabei helfen, bestimmte Energien freizusetzen. Grundsätzlich sind Mantras in jeder Situation hilfreich. Die Silben, Wörter oder Sprüche sind leicht zu merken und können im Alltag überall und jederzeit eingesetzt werden.

Nutze dein Mantra als:

  • Motivation
  • Inspiration
  • Entspannungshilfe
  • Mutmacher

Ein Mantra aufsagen, hilft, wenn du niedergeschlagen oder ängstlich bist. Sprich dir selbst Mut zu, indem du dein Mantra laut und mit fester Stimme aufsagst. Bist du wütend oder gereizt, dann trägt ein Mantra als Entspannungshilfe dazu bei, dich wieder zu beruhigen.

An Tagen, an denen irgendwie alles schiefgeht, wirkt ein Mantra aufbauend und motivierend. Nimm dir Zeit, um ein passendes Mantra zu finden. Wähle aus der Vielzahl einen Mantra-Spruch aus, der zu dir passt.

Visualisiere dein Mantra

Übe den Satz, indem du dir diesen zuerst langsam vorliest. Versuche, die Bedeutung des Spruches zu verstehen. Verinnerliche dein Mantra, indem du es häufig wiederholst. Du kannst dein Mantra überall laut aufsagen, unter der Dusche, auf dem Weg zur Bushaltestelle oder beim Joggen durch den Park.

Wenn du dich in einer Umgebung befindest, wo lautes Sprechen oder Singen nicht möglich ist, dann visualisiere dein Mantra! Schreibe den von dir ausgewählten Spruch auf ein Blatt Papier, befestige es an deiner Pinnwand, damit du es immer im Blick hast.

Regelmäßige Rituale helfen, die Wirkung des Mantras zu verstärken. Ein kurzes Mantra wie OM eignet sich, um es beim Einatmen und beim Ausatmen zu sprechen. Wiederhole dein Mantra so oft, wie es sich für dich gut anfühlt. Du kannst es dir laut vorsagen, singen oder dabei meditieren.

YouTube video

15 Mantra-Beispiele, die dich inspirieren

Heutzutage existieren Millionen verschiedener Mantras. Es gibt für jede mögliche Lebenssituation bestimmte Sprüche, die genau zum Thema passen. Im Buddhismus und Hinduismus werden die heiligen Verse in zwei verschiedene Übergruppen, die Moksha-Mantras, die zur Befreiung und Erleuchtung führen sollen und die Siddhi-Mantras, die Energien und Kräfte freisetzen sollen, unterteilt.

Wir haben unsere Mantra Beispiele in heilende, kurze und positive Mantras eingeteilt.

Heilende Mantras

  • Es gibt überall und immer etwas Gutes, ich muss es nur sehen
  • Ich bin dankbar für all die Liebe, die ich bekomme
  • In der Ruhe liegt die Kraft
  • Ich bin bereit, zu verzeihen und zu vergeben.
  • Ich mache mich frei von negativen Gefühlen

Kurze Mantras

  • Ich bin etwas wert
  • Ich schaffe das
  • Das Universum unterstützt mich
  • Ich werde jeden Tag stärker
  • Das Glück ist in mir selbst

Positive Mantras

  • Alles, was ich erlebe, lässt mich innerlich wachsen.
  • Ich liebe jede Minute meines Lebens.
  • Die Vergangenheit lasse ich ruhen und konzentriere mich auf die Zukunft.
  • Ich denke positiv und lebe ein positives Leben.
  • Ich kann, ich will und ich werde.

Fazit

Ein Mantra setzt die positive Kraft in uns frei. Die im Hinduismus und Buddhismus als heilige Verse bezeichneten Sätze wirken ermutigend, motivierend und inspirierend. Es gibt kurze und lange, heilsame und positive Mantras. Wiederhole dein Mantra regelmäßig, damit es seine volle Wirkung entfaltet.

Ebenso wie positive Glaubenssätze hilft das Mantra dabei, innere Blockaden zu lösen und dein Mindset zu stärken. Übe regelmäßig, in dem du dir deinen Mantra-Spruch laut vorsagst, singst oder ihn visualisierst. Du spürst bald, wie dein Stresslevel sinkt und begegnest den täglichen Herausforderungen mit mehr Zuversicht.

GREATOR FESTIVAL 2022

29. & 30. JULI 2022 - LANXESS ARENA KÖLN

2 Tage unaufhaltsames Wachstum. Beim größten Festival für Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. Triff inspirierende Menschen aus der ganzen Welt und lass dich von der Energie der Gemeinschaft mitreißen.
100+
Speaker
10.000+
Gleichgesinnte
5+
Bühnen
MEHR ERFAHREN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Magazin

Greator Slogan
Helpcenter
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2022
chevron-down