Greator

With the Growth Mindset you grow beyond yourself

Reading time 7 minutes
With the Growth Mindset you grow beyond yourself

You never know what challenge will be waiting for you next. That's not a bad thing, because what really counts is how you react to it. And it's your mindset that decides.

It is formed over the years based on your experiences and influences, among other things, how open you are or how much courage you bring to challenges. A growth mindset moves you forward! What exactly this means and how you develop it, you can read here.

What is a Growth Mindset?

The word "mindset" can be translated as "way of thinking" or "mental attitude". "Growth", on the other hand, means "growth". This makes a growth mindset a mental attitude that is shaped by your personal growth. What does it mean exactly?

American psychologist Carol Dweck has been studying this question for years. Her interest was aroused by students who were not annoyed by almost unsolvable tasks, but were quite enthusiastic about the challenge. Dweck wanted to find out how they developed this attitude and what it would mean for their later lives.

Countless experiments and studies followed, in which the psychologist intensively researched the Growth Mindset and its counterpart - the Fixed Mindset. She came to the overriding conclusion that our willingness to develop, learn and improve our skills is a key determinant of our success in life.

What impact does mindset have on life?

The experiences we gain influence our entire life and thus, of course, the attitude we display towards certain things. Let's look at a few examples. People who received very little encouragement in childhood and often had the feeling that they were not good enough will often continue to doubt themselves in adulthood. They often don't recognize their own potential and don't dare to step out of their Venture out of comfort zone. They are too afraid to make mistakes and thus deprive themselves of the chance to grow.

On the other hand, those who are repeatedly strengthened and know from experience that no matter what happens, their loved ones will always stand behind them, often dare to do more. These people often have a strengthened Self-confidence and face challenges courageously. And it is precisely this courage that forms the basis for a Growth Mindset and moves you forward in your private and professional life.

The changing mindset

The most diverse experiences determine our everyday life. Of course, they are not all positive or negative. Consequently, our mindset can also change in certain situations or when dealing with certain people. So your Growth Mindset in your job, where you want to aim high, becomes a Fixed Mindset in your private life, for example when you feel restricted in your relationship. But that doesn't have to be the case!

It is up to you from which perspective you want to look at things. In situations where you have a rigid image of yourself and your possibilities, you can actively decide to put on the Growth Mindset glasses. Granted, this will take some practice, but it will be worth it!

growth mindset vs fixed mindset

The path to the Growth Mindset

One thing first: Being the best at everything is not a criterion for a Growth Mindset. What it is about is recognizing your potential and knowing that there is always a way up for you. How can you develop this mindset? By taking our 8 tips to heart!

1. take responsibility

Success is not handed to anyone on a silver platter, not even to you. You yourself are responsible for your happiness and you have to be aware of that! No fairy godmother will come along and conjure up the life you've always wanted. The only way is to become active yourself. So what are you waiting for?

2. be courageous and do not close yourself to new things

Moving out of your safe comfort zone is not always easy. The outcome of many situations is so uncertain that you prefer to avoid them. But if you don't face them, you can't grow from them. So show courage!

Even if you fail the first time, you've still taken a step forward. Why? Because you analyze your mistakes and then know exactly what you can do better next time!

3. look for a role model

There are countless impressive personalities who we often think were simply lucky, were in the right place at the right time, or were born into success and prosperity. But in truth, this is very rarely the case. Just take a look at some of their biographies and you will be surprised how hard they worked for their success and what kind of setbacks they might have had to face. And yet they made it to the top. So why shouldn't you succeed?

4. surround yourself with people with a growth mindset

You have colleagues who are always at the forefront, open to new challenges and simply can't be stopped? Remarkable, isn't it? You can learn from them! If you surround yourself with people with a growth mindset, it will be easier for you to change your attitude as well.

The positive energy they radiate will spill over to you as well. Surely they also have great Tips for you how to overcome your insecurity in certain situations, because they probably used to feel the same way you do.

5. set a focus

Where are you now and where would you like to go? The answer to this question marks your starting point and your goal and thus gives you an important orientation. Focus on your current situation and consider what skills you need to get to your goal.

Do you already meet all the requirements or could you use some more advanced skills? If the latter is the case, then acquire them and don't rest on the sentence: "I just wasn't born with enough talent. Talent is hard work. So focus on your goal and take the first step.

6. believe in yourself and finally get started

Are you one of those people who go through every possible scenario in your head and come up with the perfect plan for every eventuality? Then you'll probably never get started. Of course, it's good to think about what's coming up in advance. But are you making all these detailed plans just to stall for time? That won't get you anywhere.

At some point, it's time to get going. You can't prepare for every scenario 100 %. Trust your ability and believe in yourself!

7. practice self-reflection

You have achieved the first successes? Great! Now it is called: Keep going! If you rest on your laurels, you run the risk that your Growth Mindset will gradually revert to a Fixed Mindset without you being aware of it.

So always question your actions and check whether your recipe for success is also transferable to the current circumstances. Always be prepared to adapt to new situations.

8. try autosuggestion

You yourself are your greatest source of motivation, so always make yourself aware of that! Free yourself from your negative attitude and change it with the help of beliefs. into the positive. It may sound trite, but it will help you practice confidence. Replace "It'll never work" with "I can do it. every challenge master" or "I can do anything". Words with a negative connotation have Autosuggestion nothing lost.

YouTube video

What distinguishes a growth mindset from a fixed mindset?

Dynamic vs. static self-image - this is probably the biggest difference between a Growth and a Fixed Mindset. Dynamic in this context means that you are firmly convinced that you can always reach higher if you try hard enough. Failures do not slow you down, but spur you on to improve. You think carefully about what you could have done better and then put it into practice. In your eyes, that's the key to success, and you're right.

With this mindset, all doors are open to you and you are brave enough to walk through and explore what lies beyond. Your mindset is rather static? Then you assume that only talent will get you ahead and tell yourself that you don't have any. According to this, you believe that you have no chance at all to improve yourself, because the skills you need for this have not been given to you in the cradle. Unlike people with a growth mindset, you just take it for granted and don't make any effort to acquire these skills.

Your view of mistakes is also completely different. You're always afraid of doing something wrong and you get very uncomfortable when you think about what bad consequences they might have. You are always afraid of failing and therefore don't dare to try new things. This limits your horizons and deprives yourself of the chance to develop further.

Growth and fixed mindset in everyday life

Imagine the following scenario: In the office, you are entrusted to work with a very important client who is incredibly meticulous and demanding. What is the first thought that goes through your mind? Does your inner voice say, "I can't do this! What if I make a mistake? We'll lose the client and everyone will be mad at me. They'll make fun of me for not being able to master the task!"? That clearly speaks to a Fixed Mindset.

If you have a growth mindset, your inner voice reacts differently. You are happy to be able to take care of this customer, even though you may not have the necessary skills. But you are not afraid of this, you simply acquire these skills. This challenge doesn't scare you at all, it just spurs you on. You know you can do the job if you put your mind to it, and that motivates you to perform at your best.

How can you change your mindset?

You finally want to get out of your own way and make your mindset turn around? Then willpower is the first important step. Are you really ready for change? Do you dare to step out of your comfort zone to expand your horizons?

You yourself are your greatest source of motivation, so use it! No one else can drive you to change your mindset. You are determined? Great, then visualize your goals and face the challenges! Don't let small setbacks throw you off track, but stay true to your new mindset and see them as opportunities to learn.

FREE WORKBOOK

10 Business Coaching Tips for Your Career

You want to get to the next level in your job faster?

Then get 10 free tips to help you succeed in management and leadership now!
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

© copyright by Greator 2022
Greator Slogan
Press
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down

Greator

Mit dem Growth Mindset wächst du über dich hinaus

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Mit dem Growth Mindset wächst du über dich hinaus

Du weißt nie, welche Herausforderung als nächste auf dich wartet. Das ist auch gar nicht schlimm, denn das, was wirklich zählt, ist, wie du darauf reagierst. Und darüber entscheidet dein Mindset.

Es bildet sich über die Jahre anhand deiner Erfahrungen und nimmt unter anderem Einfluss darauf, wie offen du bist oder wie viel Mut du bei Herausforderungen aufbringst. Ein Growth Mindset bringt dich nach vorn! Was genau das bedeutet und wie du es entwickelst, liest du hier.

Was ist ein Growth Mindset?

Das Wort „Mindset“ lässt sich mit „Denkweise“ bzw. „mentale Einstellung“ übersetzen. „Growth“ hingegen bedeutet „Wachstum“. Das macht ein Growth Mindset zu einer mentalen Einstellung, die von deinem persönlichen Wachstum geprägt ist. Was das genau bedeutet?

Dieser Frage widmet sich die amerikanische Psychologin Carol Dweck schon seit Jahren. Ihr Interesse weckten Schüler, die sich über nahezu unlösbare Aufgaben nicht etwa ärgerten, sondern ganz begeistert von der Herausforderung waren. Dweck wollte herausfinden, wie sie diese Einstellung entwickelt haben und was das für ihr späteres Leben bedeuten würde.

Es folgten unzählige Experimente und Studien, in denen die Psychologin das Growth Mindset und dessen Gegenstück – das Fixed Mindset – intensiv erforschte. Sie kam zu dem übergeordneten Ergebnis: Unsere Bereitschaft, uns weiterzuentwickeln, dazuzulernen und unsere Fähigkeiten zu verbessern, bestimmt unseren Erfolg im Leben maßgeblich.

Welche Auswirkungen hat das Mindset auf das Leben?

Die Erfahrungen, die wir sammeln, beeinflussen unser gesamtes Leben und damit natürlich auch, welche Einstellung wir gegenüber gewissen Dingen an den Tag legen. Lass uns dazu ein paar Beispiele betrachten. Bei Personen, die im Kindesalter sehr wenig Zuspruch bekommen haben und häufig das Gefühl hatten, nicht gut genug zu sein, werden auch im Erwachsenenalter oftmals immer wieder an sich selbst zweifeln. Sie erkennen ihr eigenes Potential oft nicht und trauen sich nicht, sich aus ihrer Komfortzone herauszuwagen. Sie haben zu viel Angst, Fehler zu machen und nehmen sich damit selbst die Chance, zu wachsen.

Wer hingegen immer wieder gestärkt wird und aus Erfahrung weiß, egal was passiert, die Liebsten werden immer hinter ihm stehen, der wagt oftmals mehr. Diese Personen haben häufig ein gestärktes Selbstbewusstsein und stellen sich Herausforderungen mutig. Und genau dieser Mut ist es, der die Grundlage für ein Growth Mindset bildet und dich privat und beruflich nach vorn bringt.

Das Mindset im Wandel

Die unterschiedlichsten Erfahrungen bestimmen unseren Alltag. Sie sind natürlich nicht durchweg positiv oder negativ. Demzufolge kann sich auch unser Mindset in bestimmten Situationen oder im Umgang mit gewissen Personen verändern. So wird aus deinem Growth Mindset im Job, in dem du hoch hinaus willst, ein Fixed Mindset im Privatleben, beispielsweise wenn du dich in deiner Beziehung eingeschränkt fühlst. Aber das muss nicht sein!

Es liegt in deiner Hand, aus welcher Perspektive du die Dinge betrachten möchtest. In Situationen, in denen du ein starres Bild von dir selbst und deinen Möglichkeiten hast, kannst du dich aktiv dazu entscheiden, die Brille des Growth Mindsets aufzusetzen. Zugegeben, das bedarf etwas Übung, aber sie wird sich lohnen!

growth mindset vs fixed mindset

Den Weg zum Growth Mindset

Eine Sache vorweg: In allem der oder die Beste zu sein, ist kein Kriterium für ein Growth Mindset. Worum es hingegen geht, ist, dass du dein Potential erkennst und weißt, dass es immer einen Weg für dich nach oben gibt. Wie du diese Einstellung entwickeln kannst? Indem du dir unsere 8 Tipps zu Herzen nimmst!

1. Übernimm Verantwortung

Erfolg wird niemandem auf dem Silbertablett serviert, auch dir nicht. Du selbst bist für dein Glück verantwortlich und dessen musst du dir bewusst werden! Es wird keine gute Fee vorbeikommen, die dir das Leben herbeizaubert, das du dir immer gewünscht hast. Der einzige Weg ist, selbst aktiv zu werden. Worauf wartest du also noch?

2. Sei mutig und verschließe dich nicht vor Neuem

Dich aus der sicheren Komfortzone herauszubewegen, ist nicht immer leicht. Der Ausgang vieler Situationen ist so ungewiss, dass du sie am liebsten einfach meidest. Wenn du dich ihnen nicht stellst, kannst du aber auch nicht an ihnen wachsen. Also beweise Mut!

Selbst wenn du beim ersten Mal scheiterst, hast du trotzdem einen Schritt nach vorn gemacht. Wieso? Weil du deine Fehler analysierst und dann genau weißt, was du beim nächsten Mal besser machen kannst!

3. Suche dir ein Vorbild

Es gibt unzählige beeindruckende Persönlichkeiten, von denen wir oft denken, sie hatten einfach Glück, waren zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort oder ihnen wurde ihr Erfolg und Wohlstand in die Wiege gelegt. Aber in Wahrheit ist das nur sehr selten der Fall. Setze dich doch einfach mal mit verschiedenen Biografien auseinander und du wirst dich wundern, wie hart sie für ihren Erfolg gearbeitet haben und welche Rückschläge sie eventuell einstecken mussten. Und trotzdem haben sie es nach oben geschafft. Warum sollte dir das also nicht gelingen?

4. Umgib dich mit Mensch mit einem Growth Mindset

Du hast KollegInnen, die immer ganz vorn mit dabei sind, neuen Herausforderungen offen gegenüber stehen und einfach nicht zu stoppen sind? Bemerkenswert, nicht wahr? Von ihnen kannst du lernen! Umgibst du dich mit Personen mit einem Growth Mindset, wird es dir leichter fallen, auch deine Einstellung zu verändern.

Die positive Energie, die sie ausstrahlen, wird auch auf dich überschwappen. Sicher haben sie auch tolle Tipps für dich, wie du deine Unsicherheit in bestimmten Situationen überwinden kannst, denn vermutlich ging es ihnen früher genauso wie dir.

5. Setze einen Fokus

Wo stehst du jetzt und wo möchtest du gern hin? Die Antwort auf diese Frage markiert deinen Ausgangspunkt und dein Ziel und gibt dir somit eine wichtige Orientierung. Konzentriere dich auf deine aktuelle Situation und überlege, welche Fähigkeiten du brauchst, um an dein Ziel zu kommen.

Erfüllst du schon alle Voraussetzungen oder könntest du noch ein paar weiterführende Kenntnisse gebrauchen? Trifft letzteres zu, dann eigne sie dir an und ruhe dich nicht aus auf dem Satz: „Ich wurde eben nicht mit genug Talent geboren“. Hinter Talent steckt harte Arbeit. Also fokussiere dich auf dein Ziel und mache den ersten Schritt.

6. Glaube an dich und fang endlich an

Gehörst du zu den Personen, die jedes mögliche Szenario im Kopf durchgehen und sich für jede Eventualität den perfekten Plan zurechtlegen? Dann wirst du wohl nie anfangen. Natürlich ist es gut, sich im Vorfeld Gedanken über das Bevorstehende zu machen. Aber legst du dir all diese ausführlichen Pläne nur zurecht, um Zeit zu schinden? Das bringt dich nicht weiter.

Irgendwann ist es an der Zeit, loszulegen. Du kannst dich nicht auf jedes Szenario zu 100 % vorbereiten. Vertraue auf dein Können und glaube an dich selbst!

7. Übe dich in Selbstreflexion

Du hast die ersten Erfolge erzielt? Super! Jetzt heißt es: Weitermachen! Ruhst du dich auf deinen Errungenschaften aus, läufst du Gefahr, dass sich dein Growth Mindset Stück für Stück wieder zu einem Fixed Mindset entwickelt, ohne dass du dir dessen bewusst bist.

Hinterfrage dein Handeln also immer wieder und prüfe, ob dein Erfolgsrezept auch auf die aktuellen Verhältnisse übertragbar ist. Sei immer bereit, dich an neue Situationen anzupassen.

8. Versuche es mit Autosuggestion

Du selbst bist deine größte Motivationsquelle, also mache dir das immer wieder bewusst! Befreie dich von deiner negativen Einstellung und wandle sie mithilfe von Glaubenssätzen ins Positive. Es klingt vielleicht banal, aber es hilft dir dabei, dich in Zuversicht zu üben. Ersetze „Das wird doch nie was“ mit „Ich kann jede Herausforderung meistern“ oder „Ich kann alles schaffen“. Negativ behaftete Worte haben in deiner Autosuggestion nichts verloren.

YouTube video

Was unterscheidet ein Growth Mindset von einem Fixed Mindset?

Dynamisches vs. statisches Selbstbild – das ist wohl der größte Unterschied zwischen einem Growth und einem Fixed Mindset. Dynamisch bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang, dass du fest davon überzeugt bist, dass du es immer höher hinaus schaffst, wenn du dich genug anstrengst. Misserfolge bremsen dich keinesfalls aus, sondern spornen dich an, dich zu verbessern. Du überlegst genau, was du hättest besser machen können und setzt es dann in die Tat um. Das ist in deinen Augen der Schlüssel zum Erfolg und damit hast du Recht.

Mit dieser Einstellung stehen dir alle Türen offen und du bist mutig genug, hindurchzugehen und zu erkunden, was sich dahinter verbirgt. Dein Mindset ist eher statisch? Dann gehst du davon aus, dass dich nur Talent weiterbringen würde und redest dir ein, du hättest keins. Demnach glaubst du, dass du überhaupt keine Chance hast, dich zu verbessern, denn die Fähigkeiten, die du dafür brauchst, sind dir nicht in die Wiege gelegt worden. Anders als Personen mit einem Growth Mindset nimmst du das einfach als gegeben hin und bemühst dich nicht, dir diese Kenntnisse irgendwie doch anzueignen.

Auch dein Blick auf Fehler ist ein völlig anderer. Du hast immer Angst, etwas falsch zu machen und dir wird ganz unwohl, wenn du daran denkst, was sie wohl für schlimme Konsequenzen nach sich ziehen könnten. Du fürchtest immer wieder, zu versagen und traust dich deshalb gar nicht erst, neue Dinge auszuprobieren. Damit grenzt du deinen Horizont stark ein und nimmst dir selbst die Chance, dich weiterzuentwickeln.

Growth und Fixed Mindset im Alltag

Stelle dir folgendes Szenario vor: Im Büro vertraut man dir die Arbeit mit einem sehr wichtigen Kunden an, der unglaublich penibel und anspruchsvoll ist. Was ist dann der erste Gedanke, der dir durch den Kopf schwirrt? Sagt deine innere Stimme: „Ich kann das nicht! Was ist, wenn ich einen Fehler mache? Wir werden den Kunden verlieren und alle werden sauer auf mich sein. Sie werden sich lustig darüber machen, dass ich die Aufgabe nicht meistern konnte!“? Das spricht ganz klar für ein Fixed Mindset.

Hast du ein Growth Mindset, reagiert deine innere Stimme ganz anders. Du freust dich darüber, dich um diesen Kunden kümmern zu dürfen, auch wenn du die dafür nötigen Kenntnisse vielleicht gar nicht hast. Aber davor fürchtest du dich nicht, sondern eignest dir diese Fähigkeiten ganz einfach an. Diese Herausforderung schreckt dich auf keinen Fall ab, sondern spornt sich nur noch mehr an. Du weißt, dass du die Aufgabe meistern kannst, wenn du dich ordentlich hineinhängst und das motiviert dich, zu Höchstleistungen aufzulaufen.

Wie kannst du dein Mindset ändern?

Du möchtest dir endlich nicht mehr selbst im Weg stehen und dein Mindset umkrempeln? Dann ist Willenskraft der erste wichtige Schritt. Bist du wirklich bereit für Veränderung? Traust du dich, aus deiner Komfortzone herauszutreten, um deinen Horizont zu erweitern?

Du selbst bist deine größte Motivationsquelle, also nutze sie! Niemand sonst kann dich dazu antreiben, dein Mindset zu verändern. Du bist fest entschlossen? Super, dann visualisiere deine Ziele und stelle dich den Herausforderungen! Lasse dich von kleinen Rückschlägen nicht gleich aus der Bahn werfen, sondern bleibe deinem neuen Mindset treu und sieh sie als Chancen an, daraus zu lernen.

KOSTENLOSES WORKBOOK

10 Business-Coaching-Tipps für deine Karriere

Du willst im Job schneller auf’s nächste Level?

Dann hol dir jetzt kostenlos 10 Tipps, die dir bei deinem Erfolg im Management und Leadership helfen!
JETZT GRATIS ANFORDERN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down