Greator

Digital transformation: opportunities, risks and success factors

Reading time 6 minutes
Digital transformation: opportunities, risks and success factors

Digital technologies are developing at a rapid pace. This is already clear if you take a look at the past decade. There is an app for almost every concern these days. Analog documents and heavy binders disappeared from most offices a long time ago. Digital transformation is having a lasting impact on our everyday lives and our society.

Digital Transformation: What is it anyway?

Digital transformation" is the term used to describe new Internet technologies within the corporate world, but which have an impact on society as a whole. In order to increase the performance of a company, it is necessary to continuously develop ongoing processes. This also applies when the Business successful is. Keyword: Disruption.

Disruptive interventions are innovations that completely replace the technologies currently in use and thus drive them out of the market.

Digital transformation is driven by two key factors. In technical jargon, we talk about so-called enablers:

  • Infrastructure (digital technology)
  • Value chains, business models (digital exploitation potential)

Key players in the Digital Transformation area include:

  • (Business) Company
  • Communities and individuals
  • Government agencies
  • Scientific, teaching and research institutions

The 3 key elements of digital transformation

In the reference book "Mastering Digital Business" by Nicholas D. Evans, the following three key elements are listed for a successful digital transformation:

  • 1. strategy and vision
  • 2. people and company culture
  • 3. processes and control

Let's take a look at the three elements in detail:

1. strategy and vision

The digital strategy should exactly match the Company goals be coordinated. Every company sets its priorities differently. The financial possibilities and IT capacity utilization can also vary. Therefore, an objective consideration of the goals and realistic possibilities is essential.

The digital focus is elementary in order to build the desired customer loyalty with the help of technical innovations. Here, the company takes the customer's point of view: What would they want? How can we make it technically easier for the customer to use our service? However, customer requirements are changeable. Therefore, this step must be repeated regularly.

Digital transformation does not work without a certain Investment readiness. After all, the technical innovations have to be financed. In order not to miscalculate, thorough planning and preparation, as already described in the first step, is absolutely essential.

2. people and company culture

The second key element of the digital transformation comprises the topics of Leadership, a reinvention of the business model, and the optimization of digital competencies.

In order for the "Digital Transformation" project to work, a strong Executive of great importance. The latter must ensure that the departments are made aware of the issue and, if necessary, offer appropriate assistance.

Another aspect is the elimination of information silos. Every department and every employee must know how to drive digital transformation. Digital work cultures often have little in common with traditional Business Models together. It is therefore important that the targeted Change not only discussed in theory, but really internalized by employees.

The required digital competence places high demands on the company's change management. It is important to train employees accordingly so that they can deal effectively with the new Technology can work.

Processes and control

The last key element involves the change and Innovation Management as well as the corporate governance guidelines.

The introduction of new technologies often requires a rethinking of established operational processes. The necessary changes must be pursued holistically and must also be practically implementable. For this, the Change and innovation management responsible. For a smooth process, it is important to communicate the changes across departments.

digital transformation company

Examples for Digital Transformation

In recent years, numerous companies have succeeded in using digital transformation to drive competitors out of the market and establish a unique selling proposition. These include the following groups, for example:

  • Facebook
  • Uber
  • Airbnb
  • Alibaba Group

Even though they are completely different industries, all of the companies mentioned have something in common: they do not manufacture products, do not create content, and/or do not have their own inventory.

What purpose does Digital Transformation serve?

Digital transformation is the industrial revolution of the modern age. With its help, it is possible to optimize business processes. This includes, for example, the use of state-of-the-art software and hardware. The more processes that can be automated, the more time employees have for creative and and sales Tasks. Above all, monotonous processes should no longer be completed manually.

Ultimately, the goal of digital transformation is to work more efficiently and thus increase customer satisfaction. Is the clientele happythe company's sales increase. In the end, that's what matters in business.

The basics and success factors

Digital transformation is not a rigid concept. Rather, it is about testing out different options. Not every innovation is compatible for every industry. Sometimes the options available to internal IT are also limited. The fact that most of the changes are not urgent can also block success. Digital transformation is fundamentally a complex undertaking.

But how can digital transformation be successfully implemented? What success factors can be identified? This question was addressed by the Global Digital Transformation Survey Report engaged in 2018.

Key success factors

The study compared companies around the world, all of which had implemented a digital transformation. While some companies thereby successful and were able to maximize their profits, digital transformation did not bring about any positive changes in other companies. In some cases, the measures taken even had a negative impact.

Based on the findings of the study, the following six success factors for a successful digital transformation could be identified:

  • Agility
  • Involvement of qualified employees
  • Integration of corporate partners (ecosystem)
  • Organization in the management floor
  • Business Integration
  • Data Analysis

The companies that were best organized in the above-mentioned areas were able to implement the digital transformation most successfully. The greatest differences between the successful and failed companies were evident in the areas of ecosystem, agility and employees. A shortage of skilled workers had a particularly negative impact on the implementation of the digital transformation.

Digitization and Digital Transformation: What's the difference?

The terms digitization and digital transformation are often used synonymously. Although there are certainly parallels, this is not entirely correct.

Digitization" refers to the insertion of new technologies into an existing system. This applies, for example, when you install new software in an existing computer system.

As the term "transformation" implies, digital transformation involves the complete restructuring of established processes. Put simply, old business models and practices are completely replaced by new methods.

YouTube video

Digital Transformation and the COVID 19 Pandemic

The COVID 19 pandemic has changed the world. For all the horror that the pandemic has spread, it has nonetheless positive change forced. This applies above all to the area of digitization and digital transformation:

1. rethinking of companies and employees

With the first lockdown, many workers were brought into the Home Office sent. In some cases, this required a complete restructuring of workflows. Technical tools that had previously been just an optional extra suddenly became indispensable. Companies were required to adapt their technology accordingly.

2. expansion of technical customer support

The Corona pandemic eliminated the possibility of face-to-face customer service in many industries. Suddenly, alternative communication channels such as video calls or chatbots were required. These techniques are not new in principle, but they took on a different significance in the wake of the pandemic. In some cases, they became irreplaceable in order to keep business going at all.

3. automation of work processes

In the Corona era, contact restrictions played a major role. This drove the expansion of automated work processes - after all, as few people as possible should come together.

The topic of automation is not entirely new either: in numerous manufacturing centers, computers and machines were already performing the essential routine tasks before Corona. This leaves workers more time for Personal initiative and creativity.

4. testing of the digital prerequisites

At the latest with the onset of the Covid 19 pandemic, all companies were forced to bring their technology up to date. Deficits that may have impaired effective work results for many years were identified and could be eliminated.

Conclusion

Digital transformation plays a crucial role in the modern economy and is likely to become even more important in the coming years. Companies that want to survive on the market in the long term absolutely have to deal with this issue.

Digital transformation goes far beyond the use of new technologies. Rather, it involves a complete detachment from familiar workflows. From a business perspective, this requires a certain willingness to take risks, but in most cases this will pay off. At this point, it is worth recalling the success factors listed in the article.

With the right implementation of Digital Transformation, profits can be maximized. At the same time, automation makes day-to-day business much easier for employees.

FREE WORKBOOK

10 Business Coaching Tips for Your Career

You want to get to the next level in your job faster?

Then get 10 free tips to help you succeed in management and leadership now!
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

GREATOR MAGAZINE
Greator Slogan
Helpcenter
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2023
chevron-down

Greator

Digital Transformation: Chancen, Risiken und Erfolgsfaktoren

Lesezeit von 6 Minuten
Digital Transformation: Chancen, Risiken und Erfolgsfaktoren

Die digitalen Technologien entwickeln sich in einem rasanten Tempo weiter. Dies wird bereits deutlich, wenn man sich das vergangene Jahrzehnt einmal anschaut. Für nahezu jedes Anliegen gibt es heutzutage eine App. Analoge Dokumente und schwere Aktenordner sind schon vor längerer Zeit aus den meisten Büros verschwunden. Digital Transformation prägt unseren Alltag und unsere Gesellschaft nachhaltig.

Digital Transformation: Was ist das überhaupt?

Als „Digital Transformation“ (dt. digitale Transformation) bezeichnet man neue Internettechnologien innerhalb der Unternehmenswelt, die sich jedoch auf die gesamte Gesellschaft auswirken. Um die Performance eines Unternehmens zu steigern, ist es notwendig, laufende Prozesse stetig weiterzuentwickeln. Dies gilt auch dann, wenn das Business erfolgreich ist. Stichwort: Disruption.

Unter disruptiven Interventionen versteht man Neuerungen, die die derzeit eingesetzten Technologien vollständig ablösen und somit vom Markt verdrängen.

Die digitale Transformation wird durch zwei wesentliche Faktoren angetrieben. In der Fachsprache ist von sogenannten Enablern die Rede:

  • Infrastruktur (digitale Technologie)
  • Wertschöpfungsketten, Geschäftsmodelle (digitale Verwertungspotenziale)

Zu den Hauptakteuren im Bereich Digital Transformation zählen:

  • (Wirtschafts-)Unternehmen
  • Gemeinschaften und Einzelpersonen
  • Staatliche Stellen
  • Einrichtungen der Wissenschaft, Lehre und Forschung

Die 3 Schlüsselelemente der digitalen Transformation

In dem Fachbuch „Mastering Digital Business“ von Nicholas D. Evans sind folgende drei Schlüsselelemente für eine erfolgreiche digitale Transformation aufgeführt:

  • 1. Strategie und Vision
  • 2. Menschen und Firmenkultur
  • 3. Prozesse und Steuerung

Schauen wir uns die drei Elemente doch einmal im Detail an:

1. Strategie und Vision

Die digitale Strategie sollte exakt auf die Unternehmensziele abgestimmt sein. Jedes Unternehmen setzt seine Prioritäten unterschiedlich. Auch die finanziellen Möglichkeiten sowie die Auslastung der IT können variieren. Von daher ist eine objektive Betrachtung der Ziele und realistischen Möglichkeiten unerlässlich.

Der digitale Fokus ist elementar, um mithilfe der technischen Neuerungen die gewünschte Kundenbindung aufzubauen. Hierbei nimmt das Unternehmen die Sichtweise des Kunden ein: Was würde sich dieser wünschen? Wie können wir dem Kunden die Nutzung unserer Dienstleistung technisch vereinfachen? Kundenanforderungen sind jedoch wandelbar. Daher muss dieser Schritt regelmäßig wiederholt werden.

Digital Transformation funktioniert nicht ohne eine gewisse Investitionsbereitschaft. Schließlich müssen die technischen Neuerungen finanziert werden. Um sich nicht zu verkalkulieren, ist eine gründliche Planung und Vorbereitung, wie im ersten Schritt bereits beschrieben, absolut unverzichtbar.

2. Menschen und Firmenkultur

Das zweite Schlüsselelement der digitalen Transformation umfasst die Themenbereiche Führungskompetenz, eine Neuerfindung des Geschäftsmodells sowie die Optimierung digitaler Kompetenzen.

Damit das Projekt „Digital Transformation“ funktioniert, ist eine starke Führungskraft von großer Bedeutung. Diese hat dafür zu sorgen, die Abteilungen für das Thema zu sensibilisieren und bei Bedarf entsprechende Hilfestellungen anzubieten.

Ein weiterer Aspekt ist das Eliminieren von Informationssilos. Jede Abteilung und jeder Mitarbeiter muss wissen, wie er die digitale Transformation vorantreiben kann. Die digitalen Arbeitskulturen haben oft wenig mit den traditionellen Geschäftsmodellen gemeinsam. Daher ist es wichtig, dass der angestrebte Wandel nicht nur in der Theorie besprochen, sondern von den Mitarbeitern wirklich verinnerlicht wird.

Die benötigte digitale Kompetenz stellt hohe Anforderungen an das Veränderungsmanagement des Unternehmens. Es ist wichtig, die Mitarbeiter entsprechend zu schulen, damit diese effektiv mit der neuen Technologie arbeiten können.

Prozesse und Steuerung

Das letzte Schlüsselelement umfasst das Veränderungs- und Innovationsmanagement sowie die Leitlinien der Unternehmensführung.

Die Einführung neuer Technologien erfordert oftmals ein Umdenken, was die etablierten betrieblichen Abläufe anbetrifft. Die notwendigen Veränderungen müssen ganzheitlich verfolgt werden und zudem praktisch umsetzbar sein. Hierfür sind das Veränderungs- und Innovationsmanagement zuständig. Für einen reibungslosen Ablauf ist es wichtig, die Veränderungen abteilungsübergreifend zu kommunizieren.

digitale transformation unternehmen

Beispiele für Digital Transformation

In den letzten Jahren ist es zahlreichen Unternehmen gelungen, mithilfe von Digital Transformation Konkurrenten vom Markt zu verdrängen und sich einen Alleinstellungswert zu erarbeiten. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise folgende Konzerne:

  • Facebook
  • Uber
  • Airbnb
  • Alibaba Group

Auch wenn es sich um komplett verschiedene Branchen handelt, haben alle genannten Unternehmen etwas gemeinsam: Sie stellen keine Produkte her, erzeugen keine Inhalte und / oder verfügen über keine eigenen Lagerbestände.

Welchen Zweck erfüllt Digital Transformation?

Digital Transformation ist die industrielle Revolution der modernen Gegenwart. Mit ihrer Hilfe gelingt es, Geschäftsprozesse zu optimieren. Dies umfasst beispielsweise den Einsatz modernster Soft- und Hardware. Je mehr Prozesse sich automatisieren lassen, umso mehr Zeit bleibt den Arbeitnehmern für kreative und und vertriebliche Aufgaben. Vor allem monotone Prozesse sollen nicht mehr manuell erledigt werden.

Letztendlich ist das Ziel der digitalen Transformation ein effizienteres Arbeiten und somit eine gesteigerte Kundenzufriedenheit. Ist die Kundschaft zufrieden, steigt der Umsatz des Unternehmens. Darauf kommt es in der Wirtschaft letztendlich an.

Die Grundlagen und Erfolgsfaktoren

Digital Transformation ist kein starres Konzept. Vielmehr geht es darum, verschiedene Optionen auszutesten. Nicht jede Neuerung ist für jede Branche kompatibel. Manchmal sind auch die Möglichkeiten der internen IT begrenzt. Die Tatsache, dass es sich zumeist nicht um dringliche Änderungen handelt, kann den Erfolg ebenfalls blockieren. Digital Transformation ist grundsätzlich ein komplexes Unterfangen.

Aber wie kann die digitale Transformation erfolgreich umgesetzt werden? Welche Erfolgsfaktoren lassen sich ausmachen? Mit dieser Frage hat sich der Global Digital Transformation Survey Report im Jahre 2018 beschäftigt.

Wichtige Erfolgsfaktoren

Im Rahmen der Studie wurden weltweit Unternehmen miteinander verglichen, die allesamt eine digitale Transformation durchgeführt hatten. Während einige Betriebe dadurch erfolgreicher wurden und ihren Gewinn maximieren konnten, bewirkte Digital Transformation in anderen Unternehmen keinerlei positive Veränderungen. In manchen Fällen wirkten sich die getroffenen Maßnahmen sogar negativ aus.

Basierend auf den Erkenntnissen der Studie ließen sich folgende sechs Erfolgsfaktoren für eine erfolgreiche digitale Transformation ermitteln:

  • Agilität
  • Einbindung qualifizierter Mitarbeiter
  • Einbindung von Unternehmenspartnern (Ökosystem)
  • Organisation in der Führungsetage
  • Business Integration
  • Datenanalyse

Die Unternehmen, die in den oben genannten Bereich am besten organisiert waren, konnten die digitale Transformation am erfolgreichsten umsetzen. Die größten Unterschiede zwischen den erfolgreichen und gescheiterten Unternehmen wurden in den Bereichen Ökosystem, Agilität und Mitarbeiter deutlich. Fachkräftemangel wirkte sich besonders negativ auf die Umsetzung der digitalen Transformation aus.

Digitalisierung und Digital Transformation: Worin besteht der Unterschied?

Die Begriffe Digitalisierung und Digital Transformation werden häufig synonym verwendet. Obwohl durchaus Parallelen bestehen, ist dies nicht ganz richtig.

Mit „Digitalisierung“ ist das Einsetzen neuer Technologien in ein vorhandenes System gemeint. Dies trifft z. B. zu, wenn du eine neue Software in ein bestehendes Computersystem installierst.

Wie die Bezeichnung „Transformation“ es bereits beinhaltet, geht es bei Digital Transformation um die vollständige Umstrukturierung etablierter Prozesse. Vereinfacht ausgedrückt: Alte Geschäftsmodelle- und Praktiken werden komplett durch neue Methoden ersetzt.

YouTube video

Digital Transformation und die COVID-19-Pandemie

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat die Welt verändert. Bei allem Schrecken, die die Pandemie verbreitet hat, so hat sie dennoch die eine oder andere positive Veränderung erzwungen. Dies betrifft vor allem den Bereich Digitalisierung und Digital Transformation:

1. Umdenken der Unternehmen und Arbeitnehmer

Mit dem ersten Lockdown wurden viele Arbeitnehmer ins Homeoffice geschickt. Dies erforderte teilweise eine komplette Umstrukturierung der Arbeitsabläufe. Technische Tools, die zuvor nur ein optionales Extra gewesen sind, wurden plötzlich unverzichtbar. Die Unternehmen waren gefordert, ihre Technik entsprechend anzupassen.

2. Ausbau des technischen Kundensupports

Mit der Corona-Pandemie entfiel in vielen Branchen die Möglichkeit einer persönlichen Kundenberatung. Plötzlich waren alternative Kommunikationswege wie z. B. Videocalls oder Chatbots gefordert. Diese Techniken sind grundsätzlich nicht neu, bekamen jedoch im Zuge der Pandemie einen anderen Stellenwert. Sie wurden teilweise unersetzlich, um das Geschäft überhaupt aufrechtzuerhalten.

3. Automatisierung von Arbeitsprozessen

In der Coronazeit spielten Kontaktbeschränkungen eine wesentliche Rolle. Dies hat den Ausbau von automatisierten Arbeitsprozessen vorangetrieben – schließlich sollten so wenig Menschen wie möglich zusammenkommen.

Auch das Thema Automatisierung ist nicht gänzlich neu: In zahlreichen Fertigungszentren erledigten Computer und Maschinen bereits vor Corona die wesentlichen Routineaufgaben. Den Arbeitnehmern bleibt somit mehr Zeit für Eigeninitiative und Kreativität.

4. Prüfung der digitalen Voraussetzungen

Spätestens mit dem Beginn der Covid-19-Pandemie waren sämtliche Unternehmen gezwungen, ihre Technik auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen. Defizite, die möglicherweise über viele Jahre hinweg ein effektives Arbeitsergebnis beeinträchtigt haben, wurden erkannt und konnten behoben werden.

Fazit

Digital Transformation spielt in der modernen Wirtschaft eine entscheidende Rolle, die in den kommenden Jahren vermutlich noch weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen wird. Unternehmen, die dauerhaft am Markt bestehen wollen, müssen sich mit dieser Thematik unbedingt auseinandersetzen.

Digital Transformation geht weit über den Einsatz neuer Technologien hinaus. Vielmehr handelt es sich um eine komplette Loslösung von altbekannten Arbeitsabläufen. Dies erfordert aus unternehmerischer Sicht eine gewisse Risikobereitschaft, die sich jedoch in den meisten Fällen auszahlen wird. An dieser Stelle sei an die im Artikel aufgeführten Erfolgsfaktoren zu erinnern.

Mit der richtigen Umsetzung von Digital Transformation lässt sich der Gewinn maximieren. Zeitgleich wird den Arbeitnehmern durch die Automatisierung das Tagesgeschäft erheblich erleichtert.

KOSTENLOSES WORKBOOK

10 Business-Coaching-Tipps für deine Karriere

Du willst im Job schneller auf’s nächste Level?

Dann hol dir jetzt kostenlos 10 Tipps, die dir bei deinem Erfolg im Management und Leadership helfen!
JETZT GRATIS ANFORDERN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down