Greator

Lean Management - for more effective and appreciative work

Reading time 7 minutes
Lean Management - for more effective and appreciative work

The Lean Management meaning can be described as "lean management". This principle, which has now become a universal management tool, combines a variety of mindsets, methods and procedures, all of which are intended to help make processes more efficient. Why Lean Management? Lean management is about increasing the quality of products, services and performance in general, thereby ensuring greater customer satisfaction.

The goal of the lean management strategy is to make corporate management more process-oriented and to more efficient to shape the future. This is to be achieved by clearly defining responsibilities and optimizing communication channels. The two most important aspects that distinguish lean management from other management techniques are cost reduction and customer orientation, which are clearly the focus of the lean method. These key topics relate to internal processes and structures as well as to cross-company actions and measures.

Lean Management: What is it?

What is Lean Management? You have already heard or read something about Lean Management and now you are wondering what it actually is? The official Lean Management definition describes it as a modern, efficient and cost-saving management method. The origin of lean management is said to go back to the production system of the car manufacturer Toyota. Based on studies comparing the quality and efficiency of different car manufacturers, it was found that Toyota's efficiency and quality were significantly higher than those of its European and American competitors. A closer look at key criteria revealed that there is huge potential for optimizing processes within the auto industry. These findings formed the basis for the development of lean management, a marketing method designed to create a new corporate culture.

How does lean management work?

What is lean? The lean management system consists of several principles and uses different lean management techniques to achieve the intended goals. Thus, errors and problems, which can basically occur in any company and at any workplace, are considered valuable and classified as an opportunity for further development as well as for the improvement of entrepreneurial processes. Punishments or condemnations, on the other hand, are deliberately avoided. The practical implementation of lean management rules is intended to optimize processes along the entire value chain. The focus is on identifying and eliminating sources of error and other weak points.

lean management principles

Goals of Lean Management

Quality and lean management are a combination that should help reduce costs in the company and at the same time increase the company's success. The main goal of lean management is to reduce waste to a minimum and eliminate the superfluous. By succeeding in optimizing processes and procedures in such a way that they harmonize perfectly with each other, the aim is to achieve this Achieve objective. The focus is on the internal processes that contribute to value creation in the company.

In lean management, it is assumed that both time and costs can be saved through streamlining, so that a company can operate more efficiently. Optimizing measures in the sense of lean management trim the entire value chain for efficiency. More Customer orientation and cost reduction best describes this management technique.

At the same time, the streamlining of processes is linked to the objective that employees should be more motivated and thus complete their tasks more quickly and efficiently. This results in a further goal of lean management: Namely, to ensure continuous improvement of all corporate processes.

Lean management is often mentioned in connection with Total Quality Management (TQM) and Kaizen, a Japanese philosophy of life and work that strives for continuous and infinite improvement. In fact, the Lean process has many similarities with these two methods.

When should I apply lean and where is lean management used in the first place?

Lean management is basically applicable in any industry and in any company.
This management method is applied to:

  • Streamline work processes
  • Increase quality and reduce costs
  • Strengthen customer focus

As a manager, you can implement the lean management principle in a workplace, regardless of the size of the company, the number of employees, or the industry. This form of management is about changing the attitudes and behaviors of employees. This is usually done by introducing employees to Lean methods and training them in Lean principles.

The Lean process consists of several core elements. These are:

  • Identification of error sources and avoidance of errors
  • Standardization and synchronization of processes
  • Systematic qualification of all employees
  • Improve production facilities (in the manufacturing sector).

Flexible behavior of employees

It is understandable that lean management requires flexible behavior, and this is also the biggest challenge in implementing this form of management. When you apply the lean method, you must be able to convince your employees of the benefits of this model.

Employees are expected to already be able to adjust their attitudes and Habits critically and change them if necessary. It is therefore possible that you will encounter headwinds if you want to introduce "lean" management in your company. You should therefore think of good arguments to convince your colleagues of this approach and show them the advantages of a new, flexible way of behaving in the company.

Lean Management Example

Classic lean management examples are the shortening of cumbersome procedures and the optimization of lengthy processes. In every company there are weak points that lead to delays and thus to non-compliance with time limits and deadlines. Valuable working time is used for unessential things instead of taking care of important things. In this context, the lean management method speaks of a starting situation that needs to be reviewed and of project goals that need to be achieved.

A practical Lean Management example can be the situation in a department where there is an enormous amount of administrative work. Due to the time-consuming way of doing paperwork, delays occur again and again, so that deadlines can often not be met. In all the confusion, important information is not forwarded or is lost altogether. With the help of a process analysis, the administrative processes are now analyzed and checked for their effectiveness.

Reveal weak points

This approach enables weaknesses to be uncovered and new insights to be gained. For this purpose, a project group is formed in the company whose participants come from all relevant areas. These include, for example, departments such as accounting, purchasing and sales, but also management and human resources.

In the next step, the actual situation is recorded and analyzed. The entire administrative process is closely scrutinized and the individual process steps are marked as "value-adding" or "non-value-adding". Such an analysis may well contain 100 or more process steps. During the analytical review, it becomes clear which tasks are effective and goal-oriented and which processes prove to be counterproductive.

At the same time, previously unknown sources of error that impede the workflow can be identified. Processes are then adjusted on the basis of these findings. In the process, the activities that were previously classified as "non-value-adding" are eliminated.

Lean management increases work performance

The result of streamlining operational processes is the redesigned workflow, which is now much more efficient and significantly reduces the working time spent on it. With the implementation of some lean management measures, the workload of employees can be significantly reduced and, at the same time, work performance can be increased.

Another Lean Management example is the so-called red rip cord. This is a kind of safety mechanism. Every employee in the company can pull an imaginary ripcord to stop processes as soon as an error or defect is detected. First, an error message is sent to the supervisor. Then, the causes of the error are investigated together until the source of the error is found. As soon as the cause of the error has been identified, the process is optimized accordingly and the process can continue again.

lean management examples

The 5 principles of lean management

A total of five lean management principles form the basis of this form of management. In detail, these are as follows:

  1. Definition of value from the customer's point of view (customer added value)
  2. Identification of the value stream
  3. Implementation of the flow principle
  4. Introduction of the pull principle
  5. Continuous improvement and striving for perfection

In detail, the five lean management principles are described as follows:

1. definition of values from the customer's point of view

The focus of the measures is on customer added value. The first step is to determine which tasks and activities in the company can generate concrete added value for customers. As a manager, you take the customer's perspective and decide which tasks add value and which processes or procedures are superfluous and can therefore be omitted in the future.

To look at each work from the customer's perspective, it's important to answer some questions, such as what customers are willing to pay for and what your company's clientele may not value. Not every activity leads to higher quality products or services. Therefore, decide which tasks are ineffective and which workflows need to be adjusted so that your Team work more efficiently can.

2. identification of the value stream

Review the entire process you want to optimize and make sure that value is created for the customer, thereby increasing customer loyalty to the company. Consider all work and organizational units equally and then decide which activities are necessary to create lasting value.

3. implementation of the flow principle

Avoiding waste is an important criterion in lean management. Activities that have no added value for the customer, the end product or the service should be deliberately omitted. The natural flow without interruptions or waiting times is only created by omitting and avoiding waste of resources.

4. introduction of the pull principle

Responding to customer needs is one of the basic principles of this form of management, which always puts the customer first. In lean management, understanding the customer as well as their needs is considered very important. Processes should therefore be oriented to customer needs in order to increase added value (Principle 1) and avoid waste (Principle 3).

5. continuous improvement and striving for perfection

Aiming for perfection is the ultimate goal of the lean method. Although the implementation of lean approaches often involves extensive changes to business processes and thus a certain amount of effort, each activity ultimately leads to added value for the customer and thus to greater success for the company.

The main advantages of lean management

There are many benefits associated with lean management for a company and its customers. Among the most important benefits are:

  • Focus on important activities by reducing worthless activities
  • Improvement of the Productivity
  • Better utilization of existing resources
  • Cost savings through continuous improvement of operational processes
  • Significant increase in the quality of products and services

Conclusion

For a company, lean management offers numerous opportunities to work more effectively and cost-efficiently through simple restructuring and streamlining of operational processes. As a manager, your task is to develop an understanding of the lean concept as a Management method and to find suitable solutions to process-related or interpersonal problems. Before implementing lean management, it is important to carefully examine what benefits it will bring to the company and to involve the employees.

FREE WORKBOOK

10 Business Coaching Tips for Your Career

You want to get to the next level in your job faster?

Then get 10 free tips to help you succeed in management and leadership now!
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

Greator Magazine

Greator Slogan
Helpcenter
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2022
chevron-down

Greator

Lean Management – für ein effektiveres und wertschätzendes Arbeiten

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Lean Management – für ein effektiveres und wertschätzendes Arbeiten

Die Lean Management Bedeutung kann mit „schlankem Management" beschrieben werden. Dieses Prinzip, das sich mittlerweile zu einem universellen Managementinstrument entwickelt hat, vereint eine Vielzahl an Denkweisen, Methoden und Verfahren, die allesamt zu einer effizienteren Gestaltung von Prozessen beitragen soll. Warum Lean Management? Im Lean Management geht es darum, die Qualität von Produkten, Dienstleistungen und Leistungen im Allgemeinen zu erhöhen, um dadurch für mehr Kundenzufriedenheit zu sorgen.

Das Ziel der Lean Management Strategie besteht darin, die Unternehmensführung prozessorientierter zu machen und effizienter zu gestalten. Dies will man erreichen, indem Verantwortlichkeiten eindeutig definiert und Kommunikationswege optimiert werden. Die beiden bedeutendsten Aspekte, die das Lean Management von anderen Managementtechniken unterscheidet, sind die Kostensenkung und Kundenorientiertheit, die bei der Lean Methode eindeutig im Mittelpunkt stehen. Dabei beziehen sich diese Schwerpunktthemen auf interne Prozesse und Strukturen ebenso wie auf unternehmensübergreifende Handlungen und Maßnahmen.

Lean Management: Was ist das?

Was ist Lean Management? Du hast bereits etwas über das Lean Management gehört oder gelesen und fragst dich jetzt, was das eigentlich ist? In der offiziellen Lean Management Definition wird dieses Verfahren als moderne, effiziente und kostensparende Managementmethode beschrieben. Der Ursprung des Lean Managements soll auf das Produktionssystem des Autobauers Toyota zurückgehen. Anhand von Studien, in denen Qualität und Effizienz verschiedener Fahrzeughersteller miteinander verglichen wurden, stellte man fest, dass Effizienz und Qualität bei Toyota wesentlich höher waren als bei europäischen und amerikanischen Mitbewerbern. Die nähere Betrachtung wesentlicher Kriterien ergab, dass innerhalb der Autoindustrie ein riesiges Potenzial zur Optimierung von Prozessen vorhanden ist. Diese Erkenntnisse bildeten die Grundlage für die Entwicklung des Lean Managements, einer Marketingmethode, mit der eine neue Unternehmenskultur geschaffen werden soll.

Wie funktioniert Lean Management?

Was ist lean? Das Lean Management System besteht aus mehreren Prinzipien und nutzt unterschiedliche Lean Management Techniken, um die angestrebten Ziele zu erreichen. So werden Fehler und Probleme, die grundsätzlich in jedem Unternehmen und an jedem Arbeitsplatz vorkommen können, als wertvoll betrachtet und als Möglichkeit zur Weiterentwicklung sowie zur Verbesserung unternehmerischer Prozesse eingestuft. Auf Bestrafungen oder Verurteilungen wird hingegen bewusst verzichtet. Durch die praktische Umsetzung von Lean-Management-Regeln sollen die Prozesse der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette optimiert werden. Dabei konzentriert man sich auf das Identifizieren und Eliminieren von Fehlerquellen und anderer Schwachstellen.

lean management prinzipien

Ziele des Lean Managements

Qualität und schlankes Management sind eine Kombination, die zur Kostensenkung im Unternehmen beitragen und zugleich den Unternehmenserfolg erhöhen soll. Das Hauptziel des Lean Managements besteht darin, Verschwendung auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren und Überflüssiges auszuschließen. Indem es gelingt, Prozesse und Verfahren so zu optimieren, dass diese perfekt miteinander harmonieren, will man diese Zielsetzung erreichen. Im Fokus stehen dabei die innerbetrieblichen Prozesse, die zur Wertschöpfung im Unternehmen beitragen.

Im Lean Management wird davon ausgegangen, dass durch die Verschlankung sowohl Zeit als auch Kosten eingespart werden können, sodass ein Unternehmen effizienter agieren kann. Durch optimierende Maßnahmen im Sinne des Lean Managements wird die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette auf Effizienz getrimmt. Mehr Kundenorientierung und Kostensenkung zu erzielen beschreibt diese Managementtechnik am besten.

Mit der Verschlankung von Prozessen wird gleichzeitig die Zielsetzung verknüpft, dass die Mitarbeiter ihre Aufgaben motivierter und dadurch schneller und effizienter erledigen. Daraus ergibt sich ein weiteres Ziel des Lean Managements: Nämlich eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung sämtlicher Unternehmensprozesse zu gewährleisten.

Das Lean Management wird oft im Zusammenhang mit dem Total-Quality-Management (TQM) und Kaizen, einer japanischen Lebens- und Arbeitsphilosophie, die nach kontinuierlicher und unendlicher Verbesserung strebt, erwähnt. Tatsächlich weist das Lean Verfahren viele Gemeinsamkeiten mit diesen beiden Methoden auf.

Wann sollte ich Lean anwenden und wo wird Lean Management überhaupt eingesetzt?

Lean Management ist grundsätzlich in jeder Branche und in jedem Unternehmen einsetzbar.
Diese Managementmethode wird angewandt, um:

  • Arbeitsprozesse zu straffen
  • Qualität zu erhöhen und Kosten zu senken
  • Kundenausrichtung zu verstärken

Als Führungskraft kannst du das Lean-Management-Prinzip an einem Arbeitsplatz umsetzen, unabhängig von der Größe des Unternehmens, der Mitarbeiterzahl und der Branche. Bei dieser Managementform geht es darum, die Einstellung sowie die Verhaltensweisen der Mitarbeiter*innen zu ändern. Dies geschieht meist, indem die Beschäftigten mit den Lean Methoden vertraut gemacht und in den Lean Prinzipien geschult werden.

Der Lean Prozess besteht aus verschiedenen Kernelementen. Das sind:

  • Identifizierung von Fehlerquellen und Vermeidung von Fehlern
  • Standardisierung und Synchronisierung der Prozesse
  • Systematische Qualifizierung aller Mitarbeiter
  • Verbessern von Produktionseinrichtungen (im herstellenden Gewerbe)

Flexibles Verhalten der Mitarbeiter

Es ist verständlich, dass Lean Management flexibles Verhalten verlangt und das ist gleichzeitig die größte Herausforderung bei der Umsetzung dieser Managementform. Wenn du die Lean Methode anwendest, musst du deine Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von den Vorteilen dieses Modells überzeugen können.

Von den Beschäftigten wird erwartet, dass sie bereits sind, ihre Einstellungen und Gewohnheiten kritisch zu hinterfragen und diese gegebenenfalls zu ändern. Es kann daher passieren, dass du auf Gegenwind stößt, wenn du das „schlanke" Management in deinem Unternehmen einführen willst. Du solltest dir daher gute Argumente überlegen, um deine Kolleg*innen von dieser Vorgehensweise zu überzeugen und ihnen die Vorteile einer neuen, flexiblen Verhaltensweise im Unternehmen aufzeigen.

Lean Management Beispiel

Klassische Lean Management Beispiele sind die Verkürzung umständlicher Verfahren sowie die Optimierung langwieriger Prozesse. In jedem Unternehmen gibt es Schwachstellen, die zu Verzögerungen und dadurch zur Nichteinhaltung von Zeitlimits und Terminen führen. Wertvolle Arbeitszeit wird für unwesentliche Dinge genutzt, anstatt sich um Wichtiges zu kümmern. Die Lean-Management-Methode spricht in diesem Zusammenhang von einer Ausgangssituation, die es zu überprüfen gilt und von Projektzielen, die erreicht werden sollen.

Als praktisches Lean Management Beispiel kann die Situation in einer Abteilung dienen, in der ein enormer administrativer Aufwand besteht. Durch die aufwendige Art und Weise, den Papierkram zu erledigen, kommt es immer wieder zu Verzögerungen, sodass Termine oft nicht eingehalten werden können. In dem ganzen Durcheinander werden wichtige Informationen nicht weitergeleitet oder gehen ganz verloren. Mithilfe einer Prozessanalyse werden nun die administrativen Prozesse analysiert und auf ihre Effektivität überprüft.

Schwachstellen aufdecken

Durch diese Vorgehensweise können Schwachstellen aufgedeckt und neue Erkenntnisse gewonnen werden. Zu diesem Zweck wird im Unternehmen eine Projektgruppe gebildet, deren Teilnehmer aus allen relevanten Bereichen kommen. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Abteilungen wie Buchhaltung, Einkauf und Vertrieb, aber auch das Management und das Personalwesen.

Im nächsten Schritt wird die Ist-Situation aufgenommen und analysiert. Der gesamte administrative Prozess wird genau hinterfragt und die einzelnen Prozessschritte als „wertschöpfend“ oder „nicht wertschöpfend“ markiert. Eine solche Analyse kann durchaus 100 oder mehr Prozessschritte enthalten. Während der analytischen Betrachtung wird deutlich, welche Aufgaben effektiv und zielführend sind und welche Prozesse sich als kontraproduktiv erweisen.

Gleichzeitig können bisher unbekannte Fehlerquellen, die den Arbeitsfluss behindern, erkannt werden. Auf Basis dieser Erkenntnisse werden die Prozesse dann angepasst. Dabei werden die Tätigkeiten, die man zuvor als „nicht wertschöpfend“ klassifiziert hat, eliminiert.

Lean Management steigert Arbeitsleistung

Das Ergebnis einer Verschlankung betrieblicher Prozesse ist der neu gestaltete Ablauf, der nun wesentlich effizienter ist und die dafür aufgewendete Arbeitszeit erheblich verringert. Mit der Umsetzung einiger Lean-Management-Maßnahmen kann die Arbeitsbelastung der Mitarbeiter erheblich reduziert und zugleich die Arbeitsleistung gesteigert werden.

Ein weiteres Lean Management Beispiel ist die sogenannte rote Reißleine. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Art Sicherheitsmechanismus. So kann jeder Mitarbeiter im Unternehmen eine imaginäre Reißleine ziehen, um Prozesse zu stoppen, sobald ein Fehler oder Mangel festgestellt wird. Zunächst erfolgt eine Fehlermeldung an die oder den Vorgesetzten. Anschließend geht man gemeinsam den Ursachen des Fehlers nach, bis die Fehlerquelle gefunden ist. Sobald die Fehlerursache identifiziert ist, wird der Prozess entsprecht optimiert und es kann wieder weitergehen.

lean management beispiele

Die 5 Prinzipien des Lean Managements

Insgesamt fünf Lean Management Prinzipien bilden die Grundlagen dieser Managementform. Im Einzelnen sind das folgende Punkte:

  1. Definition des Wertes aus Sicht des Kunden (Kundenmehrwert)
  2. Identifikation des Wertstroms
  3. Umsetzung des Fluss-Prinzips
  4. Einführen des Pull-Prinzips
  5. Kontinuierliche Verbesserung und Streben nach Perfektion

Im Detail werden die fünf Lean Management Prinzipien folgendermaßen beschrieben:

1. Definition der Werte aus Kundensicht

Im Mittelpunkt der Maßnahmen steht der Kundenmehrwert. So wird im ersten Schritt erarbeitet, welche Aufgaben und Aktivitäten im Unternehmen konkrete Mehrwerte für die Kunden erzeugen können. Dabei nimmst du als Führungskraft die Kundenperspektive ein und entscheidest, welche Arbeiten wertschöpfend und welche Prozesse oder Verfahren überflüssig sind und daher zukünftig weggelassen werden können.

Um die einzelnen Arbeiten aus Kundensicht zu betrachten, ist es wichtig, einige Fragen zu beantworten, wie etwa, wofür Kunden bereit sind, zu bezahlen und worauf die Kundschaft deines Unternehmens möglicherweise keinen Wert legt. Nicht jede Aktivität führt zu einer höheren Qualität bei Produkten oder Dienstleistungen. Entscheide deshalb, welche Aufgaben ineffektiv sind und welche Arbeitsabläufe angepasst werden müssen, damit dein Team effizienter arbeiten kann.

2. Identifikation des Wertstroms

Überprüfe den gesamten Prozess, den du optimieren willst und achte darauf, dass Werte für den Kunden entstehen, um dadurch die Kundenbindung an das Unternehmen zu erhöhen. Betrachte alle Arbeiten und Organisationseinheiten gleichermaßen und entscheide dann, welche Aktivitäten notwendig sind, um bleibende Werte zu erzeugen.

3. Umsetzung des Fluss-Prinzips

Das Vermeiden von Verschwendung ist ein wichtiges Kriterium im Lean Management. So sollten Aktivitäten, die keinerlei Mehrwert für den Kunden, das Endprodukt oder die Dienstleistung haben, bewusst weggelassen werden. Der natürliche Fluss (Flow) ohne Unterbrechungen oder Wartezeiten entsteht nur durch das Weglassen und Vermeiden von Ressourcen-Verschwendung.

4. Einführen des Pull-Prinzips

Auf Kundenbedürfnisse zu reagieren, zählt zu den Grundprinzipien dieser Managementform, bei der die Kunden stets im Vordergrund stehen. Im Lean Management wird das Verständnis für den Kunden sowie dessen Bedürfnisse als sehr wichtig erachtet. Die Prozesse sollten sich daher am Kundenbedarf orientieren, um den Mehrwert (Prinzip 1) zu steigern und Verschwendung (Prinzip 3) zu vermeiden.

5. Kontinuierliche Verbesserung und Streben nach Perfektion

Perfektion anstreben ist das Endziel der Lean Methode. Obwohl die Implementierung der Lean-Ansätze oft umfangreiche Änderungen unternehmerischer Prozesse und somit einen gewissen Aufwand verursachen, führt jede Aktivität schließlich zu Mehrwerten für den Kunden und damit auch zu mehr Erfolg für das Unternehmen.

Die wichtigsten Vorteile des Lean Managements

Mit dem Lean Management sind für ein Unternehmen und dessen Kunden viele Vorteile verbunden. Zu den wichtigsten Vorzügen gehören:

  • Konzentration auf wichtige Tätigkeiten durch Reduzierung wertloser Aktivitäten
  • Verbesserung der Produktivität
  • Bessere Ausnutzung vorhandener Ressourcen
  • Kosteneinsparung durch kontinuierliche Verbesserung betrieblicher Prozesse
  • Deutliche Erhöhung der Qualität von Produkten und Dienstleistungen

Fazit

Für ein Unternehmen bietet das Lean Management zahlreiche Chancen, durch einfache Umstrukturierungen und Straffungen betrieblicher Prozesse effektiver und kosteneffizienter zu arbeiten. Als Führungskraft besteht deine Aufgabe darin, Verständnis für das Lean Konzept als Managementmethode aufzubauen und bei prozessbezogenen oder zwischenmenschlichen Problemen geeignete Lösungswege zu finden. Wichtig ist, vor der Implementierung von Lean Management genau zu prüfen, welche Vorteile sich dadurch für das Unternehmen ergeben und die Mitarbeiter mit einzubeziehen.

KOSTENLOSES WORKBOOK

10 Business-Coaching-Tipps für deine Karriere

Du willst im Job schneller auf’s nächste Level?

Dann hol dir jetzt kostenlos 10 Tipps, die dir bei deinem Erfolg im Management und Leadership helfen!
JETZT GRATIS ANFORDERN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down