Greator

How to recognize bullying and counteract it in time

Reading time 7 minutes
How to recognize bullying and counteract it in time

Bullying has many faces and can affect people of all ages. Sometimes it is difficult to recognize bullying attacks as such, as they can be not only offensive but also subtle in nature. For those affected, there is massive pressure to suffer in any case. It is therefore important to seek help in good time.

What is bullying?

Mobbing is a widespread problem in many German companies. According to a representative Study of the Viking Raja Group in cooperation with the polling institute OnePoll, 60 % of 1,000 employees surveyed said they had already been the victim of bullying attacks in their professional lives.

Even though bullying is a serious problem, you should never use the term lightly. Not always when you feel unfairly treated or not sufficiently respected, you can immediately speak of mobbing. By definition, bullying in the sense of labor law only occurs when the following conditions are met:

  1. The procedure is systematically.
  2. The procedure takes place repeated held.

If a colleague calls you an "idiot" or something similar on a one-off basis, this is not bullying. However, if the person uses humiliating nicknames on a daily basis and encourages other colleagues to do the same, this is definitely bullying.

Examples of bullying

There are many examples of bullying, especially in everyday working life. Below we would like to give you an overview of possible bullying situations:

  • Discrimination based on appearance (e.g. derogatory jokes and remarks about skin color, weight, height, etc.)
  • Isolation among colleagues (ignoring, not greeting, etc.)
  • Concealment of important operational information (="letting it slip")
  • physical assaults
  • sexual harassment (also verbal)
  • continued humiliations
  • Spreading defamatory rumors
  • Work performance is degraded without reason
  • Manipulation of work (hiding documents, not forwarding mails, etc.)
  • harassing work instructions (useless or demeaning tasks)
  • unprovoked accumulation of controls
mobbing at the workplace

The most common types of workplace bullying: how to recognize that something is wrong

As mentioned at the beginning, bullying does not necessarily have to involve open hostility, although this does of course occur. However, it can also involve secret intrigue against a particular person. In this case, it is particularly difficult to identify bullying.

Both overt and covert attacks are deeply hurtful and often even traumatic for the victim:

1. unobjective criticism

Criticism is part of professional life and is even indispensable. The prerequisite, however, is that it is voiced objectively and constructively. However, a one-time verbal bashing by a colleague or supervisor is far from being bullying. Especially not if you have really made a very annoying mistake.

However, the line to bullying is blurred. If you repeatedly have to hear how incompetent you supposedly are, so that no one wants to work with you anymore, you should not accept this silently.

2. insults and untrue allegations

Insults can be expressed directly as well as being conveyed to the victim through several channels. What is considered insulting is at the discretion of the victim and must be respected in any case. It is irrelevant whether the offender perceives his statement as "not so bad" or even as true.

Another issue in many companies is the so-called "grapevine". This cannot be completely prevented, but as soon as dishonorable rumors are deliberately spread, this is considered mobbing.

3. sabotage

Sabotage is considered one of the most extreme forms of workplace bullying. Here, not only is there a targeted attempt to harm the victim psychologically, but also to bring about consequences under labor law. In order to achieve this, important information is not forwarded, for example, so that the mobbing victim cannot even perform his or her work properly.

Some bullies even go so far as to hide or destroy important documents and make it look as if the victim has breached his or her duty of care. The difficulty for affected employees is often proving such suspicions.

4. violence

Violence can be both psychological and physical. Psychological violence includes defamation, systematic exclusion and threats. We have already dealt with this.

One would think that physical violence in the workplace would be impossible to overlook and thus easier to combat. However, very few bullies physically attack their victims in the presence of witnesses. In most cases, the approach is so subtle that it is impossible to prove whether it was intentional or accidental.

The main causes of bullying at a glance

Bullying always occurs where many people (have to) act together in a confined space. Schools and professional environments, as so-called coercive communities, are predestined for the development of bullying situations. Competitive thinking, antipathies or disputes can be causal factors.

As a general rule, bullying cannot be excused. Nobody deserves it! Not even if he or she has made himself or herself unpopular with colleagues through some action.

The perpetrators often appear very dominant. However, this is a facade that serves to cover up their own self-doubt. Bullies often suffer from a very low self-esteem, which they enhance by bullying supposedly even weaker people.

By the way: In research, bullying is considered a group phenomenon. In addition to the perpetrator, there is a need for bystanders and followers. A perpetrator alone, who receives no support - even if only by looking the other way - could never act in such a transgressive manner against another person.

What consequences can bullying have for those affected?

Those affected suffer severely from the consequences of bullying. Children who have been bullied at school not infrequently have a Problems with self-confidence throughout life. This is clear from the Reference book "Bullying in schools by Dr. Matthias Böhmer (graduate psychologist) and Dr. Georges Steffgen (professor of social and work psychology).

But adults also suffer immensely. Bullying at work does not only extend to the hours in the office, but affects the person as a whole. Many victims feel worthless, helpless and guilty because of their situation. The consequences are not only psychological, but can also have a physical impact. For example, numerous victims of bullying complain of the following physical side effects:

  • Headache
  • Back pain
  • Stomach pain and indigestion
  • Breathing problems (tightness in the chest)
  • Loss of appetite
  • Tachycardia
  • Sleep disorders

Unfortunately, quite a few employees resort to medication or alcohol to combat the unpleasant symptoms. The desire for short-term freedom from worries is perfectly understandable. However, addictive substances do not solve the basic problem, but lead to a worsening of the situation in the long term.

Important to know: Once you have become a victim of bullying, you do not have to remain in the victim role for the rest of your life. This also applies to bullying experiences in childhood. If, as an adult, you actively decide to work through the negative experiences and strengthen your self-esteem, the Overcome trauma. The best way to do this is with therapeutic help or coaching.

YouTube video

What can you do to prevent workplace bullying?

Unfortunately, bullying situations in the workplace cannot always be avoided. This makes it all the more important to respond to them adequately.

What can you do if you are affected yourself?

Nobody can and should put up with bullying: not even you! Depending on the type of bullying and how severe it is, there are various options.

1. keep a bullying diary

Documenting the incidents is always reasonable. The burden of proof that it is actually bullying lies with the victim.

2. ignore or go on the offensive?

In rare cases it is enough to ignore the attacker. If his attacks come to nothing, he ideally loses his pleasure. In practice, however, this method is not always successful. Nevertheless, you can try this way for the time being. If the attacks do not stop, you should quickly go on the offensive: Talk to the perpetrator (first in private) about his behavior!

Tell him or her clearly that you will not put up with this any longer. If there is still no improvement, you should inform trusted colleagues and contact the works council. When the perpetrator realizes that you are no longer alone, his or her courage will fade. Don't be afraid to inform your boss in an emergency. As an employee, your boss has a duty of care to you!

If this is still not enough, then point out to the aggressor that you are not afraid to take legal action. Bullying is a criminal offense!

3. the last resort: termination

If the bullying attacks become too serious, then it may make sense to look for a new job. You may be crying out inwardly as you read these lines: If I quit, the perpetrator will have achieved his goal! However, you must not look at it that way. No job is worth risking your health. Do you really want to stay in a company where such a negative climate prevails?

As a manager, what can you do about bullying?

As a manager, you have a duty of care to your employees. If you learn of a bullying situation, must go to you must intervene. The following procedure is suitable for this:

1) Talk to the perpetrator: Make it clear to him that you, as the boss, will not tolerate his behavior. The employee concerned is not involved in this process.

2. clarify the causes: How did the bullying situation come about? What are the underlying unspoken conflicts? What can you do as a manager to increase the general job satisfaction in the team again? In order to find this out, it makes sense to have both one-on-one discussions and team meetings.

3) Show the consequences: If the offender does not change his behavior, then act according to the escalation dramaturgy. This consists of admonishment, warning and termination.

4. support your bullied employee through an internal transfer or leave of absence, if possible.

If you reach your limits, seek external help in time (e.g. dispute mediators or supervisors).

Conclusion

Bullying cannot always be avoided, but it can be effectively combated. It is important that you find your way out of the victim role or, in the best case, do not take it on in the first place. Face the perpetrator with self-confidence and do not remain alone with your problem! Only if you actively ask other people for help will you receive it.

If you yourself observe bullying situations, do not look away, but offer your support to the person affected - even if it is only as a witness. As a manager, you are even obliged to prevent bullying in the workplace.

FREE WORKBOOK

10 Business Coaching Tips for Your Career

You want to get to the next level in your job faster?

Then get 10 free tips to help you succeed in management and leadership now!
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

© copyright by Greator 2022
Greator Slogan
Press
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down

Greator

Wie du Mobbing erkennst und rechtzeitig gegensteuerst

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Wie du Mobbing erkennst und rechtzeitig gegensteuerst

Mobbing hat viele Gesichter und kann Menschen jeden Alters betreffen. Manchmal ist es schwer, Mobbingattacken als solche zu erkennen, da sie nicht nur offensiver, sondern auch subtiler Natur sein können. Für Betroffene entsteht in jedem Fall ein massiver Leidensdruck. Daher ist es wichtig, sich rechtzeitig Hilfe zu suchen.

Was ist Mobbing?

Mobbing ist ein weitverbreitetes Problem in vielen deutschen Betrieben. Laut einer repräsentativen Studie der Viking Raja Group in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Meinungsforschungsinstitut OnePoll, gaben 60 % von 1000 befragten Arbeitnehmern an, in ihrem Berufsleben bereits Opfer von Mobbingattacken geworden zu sein.

Auch wenn Mobbing ein ernstes Problem darstellt, solltest du den Begriff niemals leichtfertig benutzen. Nicht immer, wenn du dich ungerecht behandelt oder nicht ausreichend beachtet fühlst, kann man gleich von Mobbing sprechen. Um Mobbing im Sinne des Arbeitsrechts handelt es sich per Definition erst, wenn folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind:

  1. Das Vorgehen ist systematisch.
  2. Das Vorgehen findet wiederholt statt.

Wenn du einmalig von einem Kollegen als „Idiot“ oder dergleichen beschimpft wirst, handelt es sich demzufolge nicht um Mobbing. Vergibt derjenige allerdings täglich demütigende Spitznamen und ermuntert andere Kollegen dazu, sich ebenfalls daran zu beteiligen, so liegt durchaus eine Mobbingsituation vor.

Beispiele von Mobbing

Beispiele für Mobbing gibt es insbesondere im Arbeitsalltag viele. Nachfolgend möchten wir dir einen Überblick über mögliche Mobbingsituationen verschaffen:

  • Diskriminierungen aufgrund von Äußerlichkeiten (z. B. herabwürdigende Witze und Sprüche über die Hautfarbe, das Gewicht, die Körpergröße u. Ä.)
  • Isolation im Kollegenkreis (ignorieren, nicht grüßen etc.)
  • Verschweigen wichtiger betrieblicher Informationen (=„auflaufen lassen“)
  • tätliche Angriffe
  • sexuelle Belästigungen (auch verbal)
  • fortgesetzte Demütigungen
  • Verbreitung ehrverletzender Gerüchte
  • Arbeitsleistung wird grundlos herabgewürdigt
  • Manipulation der Arbeit (Unterlagen verstecken, Mails nicht weiterleiten etc.)
  • schikanöse Arbeitsanweisungen (nutzlose oder herabwürdigende Aufgaben)
  • grundlose Häufung von Kontrollen
mobbing am arbeitsplatz

Die häufigsten Arten von Mobbing am Arbeitsplatz: So erkennst du, dass etwas nicht stimmt

Wie eingangs erwähnt, muss Mobbing nicht zwingend mit offenen Anfeindungen verbunden sein, auch wenn dies natürlich vorkommt. Allerdings kann es sich ebenso um heimliches Intrigieren gegen eine bestimmte Person handeln. In diesem Fall ist es besonders schwer, Mobbing zu identifizieren.

Sowohl offene als auch versteckte Angriffe sind für das Opfer zutiefst verletzend und häufig sogar traumatisch:

1. Unsachliche Kritik

Kritik gehört zum Berufsleben dazu und ist sogar unentbehrlich. Die Voraussetzung ist jedoch, dass sie sachlich und konstruktiv geäußert wird. Ein einmaliges verbales Zusammenstauchen durch Kollegen oder den Vorgesetzten ist allerdings noch lange kein Mobbing. Vor allem dann nicht, wenn dir wirklich ein sehr ärgerlicher Fehler unterlaufen ist.

Die Grenze zum Mobbing verläuft jedoch fließend. Wenn du dir wiederholt anhören musst, wie unfähig du angeblich bist, sodass niemand mehr mit dir arbeiten möchte, solltest du das nicht stillschweigend hinnehmen.

2. Beleidigungen und unwahre Behauptungen

Beleidigungen können sowohl direkt ausgesprochen als auch dem Opfer über mehrere Ecken zugetragen werden. Was als beleidigend gilt, liegt hierbei im Ermessen des Opfers und ist in jedem Fall zu respektieren. Es ist unerheblich, ob der Täter seine Aussage als „nicht so schlimm“ oder sogar als wahr empfindet.

Ein weiteres Thema in vielen Betrieben ist der sogenannte Flurfunk. Ganz unterbinden lässt sich dieser zwar nicht, sobald jedoch bewusst ehrverletzende Gerüchte in die Welt gesetzt werden, gilt dies als Mobbing.

3. Sabotage

Sabotage gilt als eine der extremsten Formen von Mobbing am Arbeitsplatz. Hierbei wird nicht nur versucht, dem Opfer gezielt psychisch zu schaden, sondern auch arbeitsrechtliche Konsequenzen herbeizuführen. Um dies zu erreichen, werden beispielsweise wichtige Informationen nicht weitergeleitet, sodass das Mobbingopfer seine Arbeit gar nicht richtig ausführen kann.

Manche Mobber gehen sogar so weit, dass sie wichtige Unterlagen verstecken oder vernichten und es so aussehen lassen, als hätte das Opfer seine Sorgfaltspflicht verletzt. Die Schwierigkeit für betroffene Arbeitnehmer besteht häufig darin, einen solchen Verdacht zu beweisen.

4. Gewalt

Gewalt kann sowohl psychischer als auch physischer Natur sein. Zur psychischen Gewalt zählen z. B. Diffamierungen, systematische Ausgrenzung sowie Drohungen. Hierauf sind wir bereits eingegangen.

Man sollte meinen, dass physische Gewalt am Arbeitsplatz nicht zu übersehen und damit leichter zu bekämpfen ist. Die wenigsten Mobber greifen ihre Opfer jedoch im Beisein von Zeugen körperlich an. Meist wird derart subtil vorgegangen, sodass nicht zu beweisen ist, ob es sich um Absicht oder Unfall handelt.

Die Hauptursachen für Mobbing im Überblick

Mobbing entsteht immer dort, wo viele Menschen auf engem Raum miteinander agieren (müssen). Die Schule und das berufliche Umfeld sind als sogenannte Zwangsgemeinschaften prädestiniert für die Entwicklung von Mobbingsituationen. Konkurrenzdenken, Antipathien oder Streitigkeiten können ursächlich sein.

Grundsätzlich gilt: Mobbing lässt sich nicht entschuldigen. Niemand hat es verdient! Auch dann nicht, wenn er oder sie sich durch irgendeine Aktion im Kollegenkreis unbeliebt gemacht haben sollte.

Die Täter treten oftmals sehr dominant auf. Hierbei handelt es sich jedoch um eine Fassade, die dazu dient, die eigenen Selbstzweifel zu vertuschen. Mobber leiden oftmals unter einem sehr geringen Selbstwertgefühl, das sie aufwerten, indem sie vermeintlich noch schwächere Personen schikanieren.

Übrigens: Mobbing gilt in der Forschung als ein Gruppenphänomen. Neben dem ausführenden Täter bedarf es nämlich Zuschauern und Mitläufern. Ein Täter allein, der keine Unterstützung erfährt – und sei es nur durchs Wegsehen – könnte niemals derart grenzüberschreitend gegen eine andere Person agieren.

Welche Folgen kann Mobbing für Betroffene haben?

Betroffene leiden schwer unter den Folgen des Mobbings. Kinder, die in der Schule gemobbt wurden, haben nicht selten ein Leben lang Probleme mit dem Selbstbewusstsein. Dies geht aus dem Fachbuch „Mobbing an Schulen“ von Dr. Matthias Böhmer (Diplom-Psychologe) und Dr. Georges Steffgen (Professor für Sozial- und Arbeitspsychologie) hervor.

Aber auch Erwachsene leiden immens. Mobbing am Arbeitsplatz erstreckt sich nicht nur auf die Stunden im Büro, sondern beeinflusst den Menschen als Ganzes. Viele Opfer fühlen sich aufgrund ihrer Situation wertlos, hilflos und schuldig. Die Folgen sind nicht nur psychischer Natur, sondern können sich auch körperlich auswirken. Zahlreiche Mobbingopfer klagen beispielsweise über folgende physische Begleiterscheinungen:

  • Kopfschmerzen
  • Rückenschmerzen
  • Magenschmerzen und Verdauungsstörungen
  • Atemprobleme (Enge in der Brust)
  • Appetitlosigkeit
  • Herzrasen
  • Schlafstörungen

Leider greifen nicht wenige Arbeitnehmer zu Medikamenten oder Alkohol, um die unangenehmen Symptome zu bekämpfen. Der Wunsch nach kurzfristiger Sorgenfreiheit ist durchaus verständlich. Suchtmittel lösen jedoch das Grundproblem nicht, sondern führen langfristig zu einer Verschlimmerung der Situation.

Wichtig zu wissen: Wer einmal Mobbingopfer geworden ist, muss keineswegs sein Leben lang in der Opferrolle verharren. Dies gilt auch für Mobbingerfahrungen in der Kindheit. Wenn du dich als Erwachsener aktiv dafür entscheidest, die negativen Erlebnisse aufzuarbeiten und dein Selbstwertgefühl zu stärken, lässt sich das Trauma überwinden. Am besten gelingt dies mit therapeutischer Hilfe oder in einem Coaching.

YouTube video

Was kannst du tun, um Mobbing am Arbeitsplatz zu vermeiden?

Mobbingsituationen am Arbeitsplatz lassen sich leider nicht immer vermeiden. Umso wichtiger ist es, adäquat auf sie zu reagieren.

Was kannst du tun, wenn du selbst betroffen bist?

Mobbing darf und sollte sich niemand gefallen lassen: auch du nicht! Je nachdem, um welche Art des Mobbings es sich handelt und wie ausgeprägt es stattfindet, kommen verschiedene Möglichkeiten infrage.

1. Führe ein Mobbingtagebuch

Das Dokumentieren der Vorfälle ist immer sinnvoll. Die Beweislast, dass es sich tatsächlich um Mobbing handelt, liegt nämlich beim Opfer.

2. Ignorieren oder Offensive?

In seltenen Fällen genügt es, den Angreifer zu ignorieren. Laufen seine Attacken ins Leere, verliert er im Idealfall seine Freude daran. In der Praxis ist diese Methode aber nicht immer erfolgreich. Dennoch kannst du es erst einmal auf diese Weise versuchen. Hören die Attacken nicht auf, solltest du jedoch zügig in die Offensive gehen: Sprich den Täter (zunächst unter vier Augen) auf sein Verhalten an!

Sage ihm oder ihr deutlich, dass du dir das nicht länger gefallen lassen wirst. Stellt sich immer noch keine Besserung ein, solltest du vertrauensvolle Kollegen einweihen und dich an den Betriebsrat wenden. Wenn der Täter bemerkt, dass du nicht mehr allein bist, schwindet sein Mut. Scheue dich nicht, im Notfall auch deinen Chef zu informieren. Dieser hat dir als Arbeitnehmer gegenüber eine Fürsorgepflicht!

Genügt dies immer noch nicht, dann weise den Angreifer sachlich darauf hin, dass du nicht davor zurückschreckst, juristische Schritte einzuleiten. Mobbing ist ein Straftatbestand!

3. Der letzte Ausweg: die Kündigung

Werden die Mobbingattacken zu gravierend, dann kann es sinnvoll sein, sich nach einem neuen Job umzusehen. Möglicherweise schreist du beim Lesen dieser Zeilen innerlich auf: Wenn ich kündige, hat der Täter doch sein Ziel erreicht! So darfst du es jedoch nicht betrachten. Kein Arbeitsplatz ist es wert, deine Gesundheit zu riskieren. Möchtest du wirklich in einem Unternehmen bleiben, wo solch ein negatives Klima herrscht?

Was kannst du als Führungskraft gegen Mobbing unternehmen?

Als Führungskraft hast du deinen Mitarbeitern gegenüber eine sogenannte Fürsorgepflicht. Solltest du von einer Mobbingsituation erfahren, musst du zwingend eingreifen. Hierzu eignet sich folgende Vorgehensweise:

1. Suche das Gespräch mit dem Täter: Mache diesem sachlich klar, dass du als Chef sein Verhalten nicht duldest. Der betroffene Mitarbeiter bleibt hierbei außen vor.

2. Kläre die Ursachen: Wie ist es zu der Mobbingsituation gekommen? Welche unausgesprochenen Konflikte liegen zugrunde? Was kannst du als Führungskraft unternehmen, um die allgemeine Arbeitszufriedenheit im Team wieder zu steigern? Um dies herauszufinden, sind sowohl 4-Augen-Gespräche als auch Teammeetings sinnvoll.

3. Zeige die Konsequenzen auf: Sollte der Täter sein Verhalten nicht abändern, dann handle entsprechend der Eskalationsdramaturgie. Diese besteht aus Ermahnung, Abmahnung und Kündigung.

4. Unterstütze deinen von Mobbing betroffenen Mitarbeiter durch eine interne Versetzung oder Beurlaubung, falls dies möglich ist.

5. Solltest du an deine Grenzen stoßen, dann nimm rechtzeitig externe Hilfe in Anspruch (z. B. Streitschlichter oder Supervisoren).

Fazit

Mobbing lässt sich zwar nicht immer vermeiden, aber dafür effektiv bekämpfen. Wichtig ist, dass du aus der Opferrolle herausfindest oder diese im besten Fall gar nicht erst einnimmst. Trete dem Täter selbstbewusst gegenüber und bleibe mit deinem Problem keinesfalls alleine! Nur wenn du andere Menschen aktiv um Hilfe bittest, wirst du sie erhalten.

Solltest du selbst Mobbingsituationen beobachten, dann schaue keineswegs weg, sondern biete dem Betroffenen deine Unterstützung an – und sei es nur als Zeuge. Als Führungskraft bist du sogar verpflichtet, Mobbing am Arbeitsplatz zu unterbinden.

KOSTENLOSES WORKBOOK

10 Business-Coaching-Tipps für deine Karriere

Du willst im Job schneller auf’s nächste Level?

Dann hol dir jetzt kostenlos 10 Tipps, die dir bei deinem Erfolg im Management und Leadership helfen!
JETZT GRATIS ANFORDERN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down