Greator

What is Transformational Coaching and what can it help with?

Reading time 7 minutes
What is Transformational Coaching and what can it help with?

There are numerous different forms of coaching for almost every situation in life. However, Transformational Coaching stands out because of its holistic approach. The focus is on the individual with all their values, beliefs and needs. Transformational Coaching therefore does not focus on solving a specific problem, but aims at a comprehensive change.

In the following article, we would like to take a closer look at what exactly is behind this form of coaching and what to look out for. You will also find out how you can train to become a Transformational Coach yourself.

What is Transformational Coaching?

Transformation is another term for transformation. And that's what it's all about in the end: The client develops into the person he or she wants to be. Transformational Coaching is a deep psychological approach that is not satisfied with a superficial view of the problem.

The goal of Transformational Coaching is to open up access to your (unconscious) emotions. Sometimes you don't even know what you really feel, because your psyche puts up a protective shield. It is not uncommon for sadness to become anger, for example. Fear often hides behind aloofness. As mentioned, these processes take place in the subconscious. The following scholarly article takes up the topic vividly.

Transformational Coaching can help you to explore, question and change entrenched behavioural patterns and beliefs. Your feelings get the necessary space to unfold. You get to know your true needs and thus draw new strength for the challenges of everyday life.

The Transformational Coaching Model

Transformational Coaching is based on the combination of various other coaching models. It combines aspects of the best coaching approaches into a completely independent concept. Because each client is treated individually, it is not easy to describe the approach. Every client will report a different experience after Transformational Coaching.

However, there is a core concept. This consists of the following components:

  • Psychology
  • Humanities
  • Integration
  • Holistic

The elements mentioned form a cycle in Transformational Coaching. They are interdependent and build on each other. Let's take a detailed look at what is meant by the individual elements in relation to coaching:

Psychology

The coach takes a close look at his client's outward appearance and inner beliefs. Sometimes discrepancies can be found here, which need to be worked on. The client's expectations are also addressed. Psychological patterns that determine behaviour in private life and at work are revealed.

Humanities

It is basically assumed that the client has all the necessary resources to solve his problems and lead a happy life. Unfortunately, these skills are sometimes hidden, i.e. not accessible to the client. This is where the coach comes in. The coach provides suggestions for discovering hidden strengths and using them profitably.

Integration

With the aspect of integration it is meant that the coach applies his unique and exactly to the respective client adjusted transformational concept. Every client needs different impulses. Working according to a pattern is not called for in Transformational Coaching. The coaching work now takes place on the basis of the insights gained (see point 1).

Holistic

Transformational Coaching encompasses and takes into account all affective, cognitive, somatic and behavioural aspects. Of course, these look a little different for each client.

Transformational Coaching vs. Life Coaching

Transformational Coaching vs. Life Coaching: What's the difference?

Transformational Coaching and Become Life Coachingn are not infrequently confused with each other. But there are striking differences.

As the name already suggests, Life Coaching helps with problems of daily life. The coach focuses on a specific problem of his client. Together they work out goals and determine how they can be achieved. Several possibilities are examined. However, the coach does not make any specifications, but merely provides support.

The approach of Transformational Coaching is quite similar. Here, too, the aim is to improve the client's life situation and well-being. However, coach and client are free from the sometimes rigid concepts of classic life coaching.

With self-knowledge to the goal

In the first step, the coach questions the views of his client. Sometimes blockages can already be found here. The self-image and the relationship constellation also come into focus. Ultimately, Transformational Coaching is intended to sharpen the client's realistic self-perception.

Whereas Life Coaching is only about targeted problem solving, Transformational Coaching is about root cause analysis, so to speak. This is the key difference. The client's self-knowledge can contribute to bringing about profound changes.

This is expertly discussed in the following scientific paper: The soul in conversation with itself: Consciousness and the capacity for self-knowledge and self-transformation.

What does a Transformational Coach do?

A Transformational Coach can either Individual coaching or conduct group coaching sessions. The latter is especially the case in companies. The main task of the Transformational Coach is, of course, listening, interpreting and mirroring. In some cases, special exercises can complement the coaching (e.g. role plays or meditations).

The coach gives his client the necessary impulses to question views and problems. He symbolically holds a mirror up to you: What really matters? Where do the insecurities and blocks that hinder you come from? Which negative beliefs affect your behavior?

All this information is primarily conveyed through conversations that coach and client have with each other. But non-verbal signals are also perceived and evaluated by the coach. These include, for example, body language, facial expressions, choice of words and tone of voice. Once the blockages have been identified, you work together to find ways to change your attitude. With your inner attitude, your behaviour will also change.

Is transformational coaching comparable to therapy?

There are indeed various parallels between coaching and therapy. However, a coach can never replace a therapist - this is also true for the Transformational Coach. You should always be aware of this.

Transformational Coaching (as well as coaching in general) is aimed at mentally healthy people who want to develop personally and need impulses to do so. In case of serious mental illness (depression, anxiety disorders, addictions) coaching is not the right thing for you. In this case you should urgently seek the help of a psychotherapist.

When and in which way coaching is effective, you can read in the following work: Results of coaching research.

Become a Transformational Coach

Become a Transformational Coach

Transformational coaches enjoy an exciting and varied day at work. They also help other people to realise their full potential. Perhaps what you have read so far sounds so interesting to you that you are now considering a career as a Transformational Coach yourself. There are several ways to do this.

Distance learning courses are particularly popular, as you remain flexible in terms of time and location. This is especially advantageous for full-time professionals. You will receive online learning videos and exercises that you can complete at your own pace. To find the right course for you, it is advisable to consult the experiences of former participants.

Also make sure that you receive a certificate at the end of the course. Check out which coaching organisations the provider works with. This may give you the opportunity to join the team. You should stay away from offers that make dubious promises or conceal their costs.

Online or presence: Which is better?

In addition to the popular option of a distance learning course, you can of course also attend classroom training courses in order to Become a Transformational Coach. These offer the advantage of direct exchange. You can profit enormously from this. In addition, personal live training, mentoring, supervision and practical practice sessions with "real" clients can be carried out.

However, face-to-face courses are time- and location-bound. This is hardly feasible for working people or parents of small children. Ultimately, it is your personal wishes and circumstances that determine whether you start a face-to-face or online education.

Transformational Coaching Skills

In your training as a Transformational Coach, you will of course be taught the necessary knowledge and skills to be able to support clients independently later on. However, there are a few basic skills that you should have from the beginning:

Openness

As a coach you work with people. If you don't enjoy that, you should refrain from this career path. It is also important that you are not afraid of conflict. In coaching it is your task to confront clients with unpleasant truths. Only in this way can transformation take place.

attention

Listening carefully and observing are among your most important tasks. What sounds simple is not always so. Not all people have the willingness to listen to someone else with real perseverance. For a coach, this skill is essential.

empathy

A coach must be able to pick up his client emotionally. This includes putting yourself in the position of the person seeking advice in a non-judgmental way. Sometimes it is necessary to put your own emotions in the background for the duration of the coaching.

Patience

It often takes a while for success to show itself. Don't be impatient if you are not getting anywhere with your client. Transformation takes time.

Look beneath the surface

Is the client showing you his true self or is he (unconsciously) trying to deceive you? Good coaches develop a sense for this. You learn this during the training, but a basic tendency should already exist beforehand.

Do I need a Transformational Coaching certification?

First of all, you should know that Transformational Coach is not a protected professional title. Theoretically, anyone can call themselves a transformational coach. For this reason, in addition to excellent coaches, there are unfortunately also some black sheep on the market. Since you certainly don't want to belong to the latter, you should choose a certified training.

So the answer to the above question is no, you. Need theoretically no certification. However, if you want to establish yourself successfully in the highly competitive coaching market, you should still aim for a training with a certificate. On the one hand, this ensures trust, so that you can win clients more easily. On the other hand, a well-founded education also serves to protect your future clients.

Since we assume that you really want to help people, you should not impart half-knowledge. Even if there is certainly a lot of good study material for self-learning, this can not replace a sound education.

Conclusion

Transformational Coaching is more multifaceted than any other type of coaching. One way to get trained with the highest quality standards is our Greator Coach Training. It is made up of two parts: the 3-month training and the Greator Coaching Practitioner and the 6-month Greator coach.

In the first part of the training you will work on your own topics. Here you will already be familiarized with the coaching tools that you will later use in your work with your clients. In the second part, the focus is on combining retrospection and vision. You will get to know the entire repertoire of possible actions and solutions.

Our Coaching training forms the basis for any kind of coaching. If you are interested in Transformational Coaching, you will create an ideal foundation with our certified training.

FREE WEBINAR

In only 5 steps to the winning coach

Are you ready to follow your calling and help people... 
professional help?
Register now for free
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

© copyright by Greator 2022
Greator Slogan
Press
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down

Greator

Was ist Transformational Coaching und wobei kann es helfen?

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Was ist Transformational Coaching und wobei kann es helfen?

Es gibt zahlreiche verschiedene Coachingformen für nahezu jede Lebenslage. Das Transformational Coaching sticht jedoch durch seine Ganzheitlichkeit hervor. Im Vordergrund steht der Mensch mit all seinen Werten, Glaubenssätzen und Bedürfnissen. Transformational Coaching konzentriert sich demzufolge nicht auf die Lösung eines bestimmten Problems, sondern zielt auf eine umfassende Veränderung ab.

Was genau sich hinter dieser Coachingform verbirgt und worauf es zu achten gilt, möchten wir im nachfolgenden Artikel näher beleuchten. Außerdem erfährst du, auf welchen Wegen du dich selbst zum Transformational Coach ausbilden lassen kannst.

Was ist Transformational Coaching?

Transformation ist ein anderer Begriff für Verwandlung. Und genau darum geht es letztendlich: Der Klient entwickelt sich zu dem Menschen, der er sein möchte. Beim Transformational Coaching handelt es sich um eine tief greifende psychologische Herangehensweise, die sich mit einer oberflächlichen Problembetrachtung nicht zufriedengibt.

Das Ziel des Transformational Coachings besteht darin, den Zugang zu deinen (unbewussten) Emotionen zu öffnen. Manchmal weiß man nämlich gar nicht, was man wirklich fühlt, da die Psyche einen Schutzschild vorschiebt. Nicht selten wird aus Trauer beispielsweise Wut. Angst verbirgt sich häufig hinter Distanziertheit. Diese Prozesse laufen, wie erwähnt, im Unterbewusstsein ab. Folgender wissenschaftlicher Artikel greift die Thematik anschaulich auf.

Transformational Coaching kann dir dabei helfen, festgefahrene Verhaltensmuster und Glaubenssätze zu ergründen, zu hinterfragen und zu verändern. Deine Gefühle bekommen den notwendigen Raum, um sich zu entfalten. Du lernst deine wahren Bedürfnisse kennen und schöpfst so neue Kraft für die Herausforderungen des Alltags.

Das Transformational Coaching Modell

Transformational Coaching basiert auf der Kombination verschiedener anderer Coachingmodelle. Es vereint Aspekte der besten Coachingansätze zu einem völlig eigenständigen Konzept. Da auf jeden Klienten individuell eingegangen wird, ist es gar nicht so einfach, die Vorgehensweise zu beschreiben. Jeder Klient wird nach einem Transformational Coaching von anderen Erfahrungen berichten.

Es existiert jedoch ein Kernkonzept. Dieses setzt sich aus folgenden Bestandteilen zusammen:

  • Psychologie
  • Humanistik
  • Integration
  • Ganzheitlichkeit

Die genannten Elemente bilden im Transformational Coaching einen Kreislauf. Sie bedingen einander und bauen aufeinander auf. Schauen wir uns doch mal im Detail an, was mit den einzelnen Elementen in Bezug auf das Coaching gemeint ist:

Psychologie

Der Coach betrachtet die Außenwirkung und die inneren Überzeugungen seines Klienten genau. Manchmal lassen sich hier Unstimmigkeiten feststellen, die es zu bearbeiten gilt. Die Erwartungen des Klienten werden ebenfalls thematisiert. Psychologische Muster, die das Verhalten im Privatleben und am Arbeitsplatz bestimmen, offenbaren sich.

Humanistik

Es wird grundsätzlich davon ausgegangen, dass der Klient über alle notwendigen Ressourcen verfügt, um seine Probleme zu lösen und ein glückliches Leben zu führen. Leider sind diese Fertigkeiten manchmal verborgen, d. h. für den Klienten nicht zugänglich. Hier kommt der Coach ins Spiel. Dieser gibt Anregungen, verborgene Stärken zu entdecken und gewinnbringend zu nutzen.

Integration

Mit dem Aspekt der Integration ist gemeint, dass der Coach sein einzigartiges und genau auf den jeweiligen Klienten abgestimmtes transformales Konzept anwendet. Jeder Klient benötigt andere Impulse. Die Arbeit nach Schema F ist im Rahmen des Transformational Coachings nicht gefragt. Auf Basis der ermittelten Erkenntnisse (siehe Punkt 1) erfolgt nun die Coachingarbeit.

Ganzheitlichkeit

Das Transformational Coaching umfasst und berücksichtigt alle affektiven, kognitiven, somatischen und verhaltensbezogenen Aspekte. Diese sehen natürlich bei jedem Klienten ein wenig anders aus.

Transformational Coaching vs. Life Coaching

Transformational Coaching vs. Life Coaching: Was ist der Unterschied?

Transformational Coaching und Life Coaching werden nicht selten miteinander verwechselt. Dabei gibt es prägnante Unterschiede.

Wie der Name es bereits vermuten lässt, hilft das Life Coaching bei Problemstellungen des täglichen Lebens. Der Coach konzentriert sich auf ein konkretes Problem seines Klienten. Gemeinsam erarbeitet man Ziele und legt fest, wie diese realisierbar sind. Hierbei werden mehrere Möglichkeiten beleuchtet. Der Coach macht jedoch keine Vorgaben, sondern unterstützt lediglich.

Der Ansatz des Transformational Coachings ist durchaus ähnlich. Auch hier geht es darum, die Lebenssituation und das Wohlbefinden des Klienten zu verbessern. Allerdings sind Coach und Klient frei von den teilweise starren Konzepten klassischen Life Coachings.

Mit Selbsterkenntnis zum Ziel

Im ersten Schritt hinterfragt der Coach die Ansichten seines Klienten. Manchmal lassen sich hier bereits Blockaden finden. Auch das Selbstbild und die Beziehungskonstellation rücken in den Fokus. Letztendlich soll das Transformational Coaching die realistische Selbstwahrnehmung des Klienten schärfen.

Während es beim Life Coaching lediglich um gezielte Problemlösungen geht, wird beim Transformational Coaching sozusagen Ursachenforschung betrieben. Hierin besteht der kennzeichnende Unterschied. Die Selbsterkenntnis des Klienten kann dazu beitragen, tief greifende Veränderungen herbeizuführen.

Dies ist in folgender wissenschaftlicher Ausarbeitung fachkundig erörtert: Die Seele im Gespräch mit sich selbst: Bewusstsein und die Fähigkeit zur Selbsterkenntnis und -veränderung.

Was macht ein Transformational Coach?

Ein Transformational Coach kann entweder Einzelcoachings oder Gruppencoachings durchführen. Letzteres ist vor allem in Betrieben der Fall. Die Hauptaufgabe des Transformational Coaches ist selbstverständlich das Zuhören, Interpretieren und Spiegeln. In einigen Fällen können spezielle Übungen das Coaching ergänzen (z. B. Rollenspiele oder Meditationen).

Der Coach gibt seinem Klienten die notwendigen Impulse, um Ansichten und Probleme zu hinterfragen. Er hält dir symbolisch einen Spiegel vor: Was ist wirklich von Bedeutung? Woher stammen die Unsicherheiten und Blockaden, die dich behindern? Welche negativen Glaubenssätze beeinflussen dein Verhalten?

All diese Informationen werden in erster Linie durch Gespräche vermittelt, die Coach und Klient miteinander führen. Aber auch nonverbale Signale werden vom Coach wahrgenommen und ausgewertet. Hierzu gehören beispielsweise die Körpersprache, Mimik sowie Wortwahl und Stimmlage. Sind die Blockaden identifiziert, sucht ihr gemeinsam Wege, deine Einstellung zu ändern. Mit der inneren Einstellung ändert sich auch dein Verhalten.

Ist Transformational Coaching vergleichbar mit einer Therapie?

Es existieren tatsächlich diverse Parallelen zwischen Coaching und Therapie. Dennoch kann ein Coach niemals einen Therapeuten ersetzen – dies gilt auch für den Transformational Coach. Dessen solltest du dir stets bewusst sein.

Transformational Coaching (sowie Coaching im Allgemeinen) richtet sich an psychisch gesunde Menschen, die sich persönlich weiterentwickeln wollen und hierzu Impulse brauchen. Im Falle von ernsten psychischen Erkrankung (Depressionen, Angststörungen, Süchte) ist ein Coaching nicht das richtige für dich. In diesem Fall solltest du dringend die Hilfe eines Psychotherapeuten in Anspruch nehmen.

Wann und auf welche Weise Coaching wirksam ist, kannst du in folgendem Werk nachlesen: Ergebnisse der Coachingforschung.

Transformational Coach werden

Transformational Coach werden

Transformational Coaches erfreuen sich eines spannenden und vielfältigen Arbeitsalltags. Zudem helfen sie anderen Menschen, ihr Potenzial voll auszuschöpfen. Möglicherweise klingt das bisher Gelesene für dich so interessant, dass du nun überlegst, selbst eine berufliche Laufbahn als Transformational Coach einzuschlagen. Hierfür gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten.

Besonders beliebt sind Fernlerngänge, da du hierbei zeitlich und örtlich flexibel bleibst. Dies ist besonders für Vollzeit berufstätige von Vorteil. Du erhältst online Lernvideos und Übungen, denen du dich in deinem eigenen Arbeitstempo widmen kannst. Um den richtigen Kurs zu finden, ist es empfehlenswert, dich mit den Erfahrungswerten ehemaliger Teilnehmer zu beschäftigen.

Achte außerdem darauf, dass du am Ende des Lehrgangs ein Zertifikat erhältst. Schaue dir an, mit welchen Coachingorganisationen der Anbieter zusammenarbeitet. Möglicherweise ergibt sich hieraus eine Möglichkeit, dich ins Team zu übernehmen. Abstand nehmen solltest du von Angeboten, die dir dubiose Versprechungen machen oder ihre Kosten verschleiern.

Online oder Präsenz: Was ist besser?

Neben der beliebten Möglichkeit eines Fernlehrgangs, kannst du natürlich auch Präsenzlehrgänge besuchen, um Transformational Coach zu werden. Diese bieten den Vorteil des direkten Austauschs. Hiervon kannst du enorm profitieren. Zudem lassen sich persönliches Live-Training, Mentoring, Supervision sowie praktische Übungsstunden mit „echten“ Klienten durchführen.

Allerdings sind Präsenzkurse zeit- und ortsgebunden. Für Berufstätige oder Eltern kleiner Kinder ist dies kaum machbar. Letztendlich sind vor allem die persönlichen Wünsche und Lebensumstände ausschlaggebend, ob du eine Präsenz- oder Onlineausbildung beginnst.

Transformational Coaching Fähigkeiten

In deiner Ausbildung zum Transformational Coach bekommst du selbstverständlich das notwendige Wissen und die benötigen Fertigkeiten vermittelt, um später selbstständig Klienten betreuen zu können. Dennoch gibt es ein paar grundlegende Fähigkeiten, die du von Anfang an mitbringen solltest:

Offenheit

Als Coach arbeitest du mit Menschen. Wenn du daran keine Freude hast, solltest du von dem beruflichen Weg absehen. Zudem ist es wichtig, dass du nicht konfliktscheu bist. Im Rahmen des Coachings ist es deine Aufgabe, Klienten auch mit unangenehmen Wahrheiten zu konfrontieren. Nur so kann Transformation stattfinden.

Aufmerksamkeit

Aufmerksames Zuhören und Beobachten gehören zu deinen wichtigsten Aufgaben. Was einfach klingt, ist es nicht immer. Die Bereitschaft, jemand anderem wirklich ausdauernd zuzuhören, haben nicht alle Menschen. Für einen Coach ist diese Fähigkeit unerlässlich.

Empathie

Ein Coach muss es schaffen, seinen Klienten emotional abzuholen. Dazu gehört, dass du dich wertfrei in die Lage des Ratsuchenden versetzt. Manchmal ist es nötig, die eigenen Emotionen für den Zeitraum des Coachings in den Hintergrund zu stellen.

Geduld

Oft braucht es eine Weile, bis sich Erfolge zeigen. Sei nicht ungeduldig, wenn du mit deinem Klienten nicht weiterkommst. Transformation benötigt Zeit.

Unter die Oberfläche schauen

Zeigt der Klient dir sein wahres Ich oder versucht er (unbewusst), dich zu täuschen? Gute Coaches entwickeln hierfür ein Gespür. Dies lernst du zwar im Rahmen der Ausbildung, eine Grundtendenz sollte aber schon vorher vorhanden sein.

Brauche ich eine Transformational Coaching Zertifizierung?

Zunächst einmal solltest du wissen, dass es sich beim Transformational Coach um keine geschützte Berufsbezeichnung handelt. Theoretisch dürfte sich also jeder so nennen. Aus diesem Grunde tummeln sich neben exzellenten Coaches leider auch einige schwarze Schafe dem Markt. Da du sicher nicht zu Letzteren gehören möchtest, solltest du eine zertifizierte Ausbildung wählen.

Die Antwort auf die obige Frage lautet also: Nein, du brauchst theoretisch keine Zertifizierung. Wenn du dich aber erfolgreich auf dem hart umkämpften Coachingmarkt etablieren möchtest, solltest du dennoch eine Ausbildung mit Zertifikat anstreben. Dies sorgt einerseits für Vertrauen, sodass du leichter Kunden gewinnst. Andererseits dient eine fundierte Ausbildung auch dem Schutz deiner späteren Klienten.

Da wir davon ausgehen, dass du wirklich Menschen helfen möchtest, solltest du kein Halbwissen vermitteln. Auch wenn es sicher eine Menge gutes Studienmaterial zum Selbstlernen gibt, kann dies keine fundierte Ausbildung ersetzen.

Fazit

Transformational Coaching ist so facettenreich wie kaum eine andere Coachingart. Eine Möglichkeit, dich mit höchsten Qualitätsstandards ausbilden zu lassen, ist unsere Greator Coach Ausbildung. Sie setzt sich aus zwei Teilen zusammen: dem 3-monatigen Greator Coaching Practitioner und dem 6-monatigen Greator Coach.

Im ersten Teil der Ausbildung bearbeitest du deine eigenen Themen. Hierbei wirst du bereits mit den Coachingtools vertraut gemacht, die du später in deiner Arbeit mit deinen Klienten anwenden wirst. Im zweiten Teil steht das Verbinden von Rückschau und Vision im Vordergrund. Du lernst das gesamte Repertoire an Handlungs- und Lösungsmöglichkeiten kennen.

Unsere Coaching-Ausbildung bildet die Basis für jede Art von Coaching. Wenn du dich also für Transformational Coaching interessierst, schaffst du mit der zertifizierten Ausbildung bei uns eine ideale Grundlage.

Kostenloses Webinar:

In nur 5 Schritten zum erfolgreichen Coach

Bist du bereit, deiner Berufung zu folgen und Menschen 
professionell zu helfen?
Jetzt kostenlos anmelden

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down