Greator

No desire for school: How to motivate your child again

Reading time 7 minutes
No desire for school: How to motivate your child again

School is by no means the best time of life for all children. In fact, there are many students who temporarily or permanently don't want to go to school. The reasons for this can be many and varied. However, parents are faced with a major problem, because monotonous appeals usually achieve little, depending on the age of the child.

But what can parents do to manage their child's truancy? In what ways do children find their Motivation and joy of learning again? These are the questions we would like to address in the following article.

Why do children sometimes not feel like going to school?

Just as you don't drive to the office every day full of euphoria, it's perfectly normal for children not to feel like going to school at times. However, it becomes problematic when a more persistent attitude of refusal sets in. This can be recognized, for example, by the fact that the Child no homework The student's performance at school declines and, ultimately, the student's promotion to the next grade is even jeopardized.

Underchallenge or overchallenge

The reasons for this negative development are not necessarily obvious to teachers and parents. One possible cause may be excessive demands, but also underchallenge. Overchallenged children are afraid of failing and repeatedly writing bad grades. They feel that they cannot keep up with the subject matter and the pace of learning. The result is resignation and refusal.

If there are constant failures at school, a learning disability could be the cause. This is especially true if certain sources of error stand out in particular. Does your child constantly get bad grades because he or she has problems with spelling? In this case, it is worth clarifying whether dyslexia is present. If, on the other hand, mathematics is the problem subject, it is worth testing for Dyscalculia.

However, the exact opposite can also be the case. Quite a few highly gifted children stand out at school due to poor grades as well as rebellion. This is due to boredom and a lack of connection to classroom topics. Highly gifted children need a special kind of support. What this could look like is described in the following scientific elaboration summarized.

Bullying and disputes with teachers

If your child doesn't want to go to school, there may be interpersonal problems behind it. No one wants to be in an environment that is characterized by coercion or even humiliation. This also applies to children. Whoever is the victim of Mobbing by classmates or teachers, self-explanatorily cannot learn well (anymore). An attempt is made to put as much distance as possible between oneself and the school.

Not up for school: just a phase?

Especially in teenage years, everything else suddenly seems to be more important than school: the clique, new freedoms, the first crush and the first heartbreak. This is perfectly normal and usually temporary. A lot changes in young people's lives, so their performance at school can drop temporarily. In addition, there is a certain amount of rebellion that is often typical of the teenage years.

what to do when you don't want to go to school

What can be done when children don't want to go to school?

Your child doesn't feel like going to school right now? Even if it's hard, it's important that you as a parent can help in this situation. Situation as calm as possible stay. Punishments do not lead to the desired goal, but rather intensify the unwillingness even more. First and foremost, you need to find out the causes. The best way to do this is to talk to your child and the teachers.

If you approach your child not with an attitude of reproach, but with understanding and honest interest, he or she may confide in you about why he or she doesn't feel like going to school at the moment. The older the child, the easier this will be. If your child is still very young, it can help to observe the reluctance closely: For example, does it always occur on the same days or in the same subjects?

Talk to the teachers at the latest when the transfer is at risk. Ask the teachers to describe the observations they have made regarding your child's learning behavior. Sometimes this will reveal the possible reasons for the truancy. It is important that parents and teachers work together.

10 tips to motivate children who do not want to go to school

What tips help when your child doesn't feel like going to school depends first and foremost on the cause. That's why it's so important to find out what it is. Only then can you act in a targeted manner. Below we have summarized the most important tips for more motivation, which cover various possible causes.

Tips for parents

1. praise and recognition

Especially in the case of academic failure, recognition when something has gone well is all the more important. Honest praise motivates people to continue working hard in order to repeat the feeling of success. This applies equally to adults in professional life and to students.

However, make sure your tokens of appreciation are appropriate for the age. A teenager will appreciate different rewards than an elementary school child. Small monetary gifts are fine, but they should not be too large.

2. breaking out of the routine

No desire for school and boredom usually go hand in hand. In this case, it is important to make learning fun. This is often very successful, especially with elementary school children. Read books with your child on topics that interest them to improve their reading and spelling skills. Or take your child out into nature and explore the forest with its flora and fauna.

With older children, it can be helpful to talk about the daily routine: Does the child perhaps need a different rhythm in order to learn better again? Does he or she want to take a break first after school or get right to work on homework? Teenagers should be given a certain amount of personal responsibility here.

3. set realistic goals

Motivate your child to set school goals, such as writing them on a bulletin board. Is that goal is achieved, there is a previously agreed reward. Particularly with a large learning workload, it can help to divide it into small milestones. In this way, your child will not feel overwhelmed and will achieve a sense of achievement more quickly.

4. offer willingness to talk

As already mentioned, it is extremely important that you do not reproach your child, but rather signal to him or her that you are willing to talk. Not always is a lack of interest in school a pure act of defiance. Sometimes there are complex problems behind it that require action. Is your child possibly being bullied and ostracized by his or her classmates? Are there problems with the teachers?

Let your child know that you support them. Work together to see how your child can get better at school. In extreme cases, even a change of class or even school should be discussed.

5. parental control

Despite all your understanding and willingness to talk, you are still responsible for your child's future. This means that you cannot allow school to be completely slacked off. If necessary, ask the teachers or the parents of classmates about the current learning material and homework.

One possibility, for example, would be for the teacher to check the child's homework book for completeness and for the parents to countersign this when it is completed. Admittedly, no one likes that much control. But it is a good motivator for more Personal initiative. As soon as the child shows more commitment again and proves to be reliable, the control measures can of course be relaxed again.

YouTube video

Tips for students

You don't feel like going to school at the moment and want to be more motivated again? The following tips can help you to enjoy learning more and get better grades:

6. a good Start the day

In the morning, you are jolted out of a deep sleep by the shrill beep of your alarm clock, hurry grumpily to the bathroom, and hastily gulp down your breakfast because you are late again. Does this scenario sound familiar? It's no wonder that your motivation is limited. No one gets off to a good start in the day that way.

Therefore, make sure that your morning routine is calm and relaxed. Set a pleasant wake-up melody and set the alarm 15 minutes earlier. Fifteen minutes can make a big difference in the morning! Enjoy a warm shower and prepare a healthy breakfast. You will notice that your mood will be much better and you will be more motivated to go to school.

7. learn together with friends

Learning together is much more fun than poring over the subject matter alone. In addition, you can support each other, because everyone has their own individual strengths and weaknesses has. You don't know how to do math? Maybe your friends can help you. Are you an ace at science? Then explain to your friends the new topic they didn't understand.

8. set goals for the future

It may be that school feels absolutely unnecessary and stressful to you right now. Therefore, it can help if you keep in mind which larger goal is worth persevering for.

Do you want to become a doctor or a pilot? Then you need a high school diploma and a degree to realize these plans. You want to be financially independent one day? Also for Self-employed a good school education forms the basis.

9. care for a balance in the free time

You don't feel like going to school, but at the same time your whole life seems to revolve around it? Maybe that's where the problem lies. Even adults need a balance to be successful in their professional lives. It's no different for students. Therefore, you should look for a hobby that fulfills you and from which you can draw new strength.

10. keep a success diary

Not wanting to go to school gets worse when the failures pile up. If your basic attitude is negative anyway, you also tend to overlook the small successes. But they certainly do exist. For this reason, it is worth keeping a success diary.

You were the only student who knew the answer to a difficult question? Then write this down. Your teachers praise you for being helpful to your classmates? This also belongs in the success diary.

Conclusion: No desire for school does not have to become a permanent condition

Sooner or later, every child doesn't want to go to school. As a parent, however, it is your responsibility to find out the causes and support your child as best you can to find a solution. In our three-month training program for Learning Coach you will be taught the necessary skills.

Furthermore we would like to present you our free e-book with the title "The 10 best tips for fun and success in learning". In this compact guide, you will learn how you can accompany your child through his or her school years with fun and motivation. The 10 tips presented have been tried and tested in practice.

FREE E-BOOK

The 10 best tips for 
Fun and success in learning

In our free e-book you get 10 tried and tested tipsthat will help you to support your child in learning in the best possible way.
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

GREATOR MAGAZINE
Greator Slogan
Helpcenter
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2023
chevron-down

Greator

Kein Bock auf Schule: So motivierst du dein Kind wieder

Lesezeit von 7 Minuten
Kein Bock auf Schule: So motivierst du dein Kind wieder

Die Schulzeit ist längst nicht für alle Kinder die schönste Zeit des Lebens. Tatsächlich gibt es zahlreiche Schüler, die vorübergehend oder dauerhaft kein Bock auf Schule haben. Die Ursachen hierfür können vielfältiger Natur sein. Eltern stehen jedoch vor einem großen Problem, denn mit monotonen Appellen erreicht man je nach Alter des Kindes meist wenig.

Aber was können Eltern unternehmen, um die Schulverweigerung ihres Kindes in den Griff zu bekommen? Auf welche Weise finden Kinder ihre Motivation und Lernfreude wieder? Mit diesen Fragen möchten wir uns im nachfolgenden Artikel beschäftigen.

Warum haben Kinder manchmal keine Lust, in die Schule zu gehen?

Genau wie du nicht jeden Tag voller Euphorie ins Büro fährst, ist es vollkommen normal, dass Kinder beizeiten keine Lust haben, in die Schule zu gehen. Problematisch wird es jedoch, wenn sich eine hartnäckigere Verweigerungshaltung einstellt. Diese ist z. B. daran zu erkennen, dass das Kind keine Hausaufgaben macht, die schulischen Leistungen absinken und letztendlich sogar die Versetzung gefährdet ist.

Unterforderung oder Überforderung

Die Gründe für diese negative Entwicklung sind für Lehrer und Eltern nicht zwingend offensichtlich. Eine mögliche Ursache kann Überforderung, aber auch Unterforderung sein. Überforderte Kinder fürchten sich davor, zu versagen und wiederholt schlechte Noten zu schreiben. Sie spüren, dass sie mit dem Unterrichtsstoff und dem Lerntempo nicht mithalten können. Die Folge sind Resignation und Verweigerung.

Bei stetigen schulischen Misserfolgen könnte eine Lernschwäche die Ursache sein. Dies gilt besonders dann, wenn vor allem bestimmte Fehlerquellen auffallen. Bekommt dein Kind ständig schlechte Noten, weil es mit der Rechtschreibung Probleme hat? In diesem Fall lohnt es sich, abzuklären, ob eine Legasthenie vorliegt. Ist hingegen Mathematik das Problemfach, lohnt sich ein Test auf Dyskalkulie.

Allerdings kann auch genau das Gegenteil der Fall sein. Nicht wenige hochbegabte Kinder fallen in der Schule durch schlechte Noten sowie durch Rebellion auf. Dies ist auf die Langeweile und den mangelnden Bezug zu den Unterrichtsthemen zurückzuführen. Hochbegabte Kinder benötigen eine besondere Art der Förderung. Wie diese aussehen könnte, ist in folgender wissenschaftlicher Ausarbeitung zusammengefasst.

Mobbing und Auseinandersetzungen mit Lehrern

Hat dein Kind kein Bock auf Schule, können auch zwischenmenschliche Probleme dahinterstecken. In einem Umfeld, das von Zwang oder gar Erniedrigung geprägt ist, möchte sich niemand gerne aufhalten. Dies gilt auch für Kinder. Wer Opfer von Mobbing durch Mitschüler oder Lehrkräfte wird, kann selbsterklärender Weise nicht (mehr) gut lernen. Es wird versucht, möglichst viel Abstand zwischen sich und die Schule zu bringen.

Kein Bock auf Schule: Nur eine Phase?

Insbesondere im Teenageralter scheint plötzlich alles andere wichtiger zu sein als die Schule: die Clique, neue Freiheiten, die erste Verliebtheit und der erste Liebeskummer. Dies ist vollkommen normal und meist vorübergehend. Im Leben von jungen Menschen verändert sich viel, sodass die schulischen Leistungen zeitweise absinken können. Hinzu kommt ein gewisses Maß an Rebellion, das oft typisch für die Teenagerjahre ist.

was tun wenn man kein bock auf schule hat

Was kann man unternehmen, wenn Kinder kein Bock auf Schule haben?

Dein Kind hat gerade kein Bock auf Schule? Auch wenn es schwerfällt, ist es wichtig, dass du als Elternteil in dieser Situation möglichst gelassen bleibst. Bestrafungen führen nicht zum gewünschten Ziel, sondern verstärken die Unlust noch zusätzlich. In erster Linie geht es nun darum, die Ursachen herauszufinden. Hierzu suchst du am besten das Gespräch mit deinem Kind sowie mit den Lehrkräften.

Sofern du deinem Kind nicht mit einer Vorwurfshaltung, sondern mit Verständnis und ehrlichem Interesse begegnest, wird es sich dir möglicherweise anvertrauen, warum es momentan kein Bock auf Schule verspürt. Je älter das Kind ist, umso einfacher gelingt dies. Sollte dein Kind noch sehr jung sein, kann es helfen, die Unlust genau zu beobachten: Tritt sie z. B. immer an denselben Tagen oder in denselben Fächern auf?

Spätestens, wenn die Versetzung gefährdet ist, stehen Gespräche mit den Lehrern an. Lasse dir von den Lehrkräften die Beobachtungen schildern, die sie bezüglich des Lernverhaltens deines Kindes gemacht haben. Manchmal erschließen sich hieraus die möglichen Ursachen für die Schulverweigerung. Wichtig ist, dass Eltern und Lehrer gemeinsam an einem Strang ziehen.

10 Tipps, um Kinder zu motivieren, die nicht zur Schule gehen wollen

Welche Tipps helfen, wenn dein Kind kein Bock auf Schule hat, hängt in erster Linie von der Ursache ab. Daher ist es so wichtig, diese herauszufinden. Nur so kannst du zielgerichtet agieren. Nachfolgend haben wir die wichtigsten Tipps für mehr Motivation zusammengefasst, welche verschiedene mögliche Ursachen abdecken.

Tipps für Eltern

1. Lob und Anerkennung

Insbesondere bei schulischem Misserfolg ist Anerkennung, wenn doch mal etwas gut gelaufen ist, umso wichtiger. Ein ehrliches Lob motiviert dazu, weiterhin fleißig zu sein, um das Erfolgserlebnis zu wiederholen. Dies gilt für Erwachsene im Berufsleben und für Schüler gleichermaßen.

Achte jedoch darauf, dass deine Zeichen der Anerkennung für das Alter angemessen sind. Ein Teenager freut sich über andere Belohnungen als ein Grundschulkind. Kleine Geldgeschenke sind in Ordnung, allerdings sollte es sich nicht um allzu große Summen handeln.

2. Ausbruch aus der Routine

Kein Bock auf Schule und Langeweile gehen meist Hand in Hand. In diesem Fall gilt es, das Lernen spielerisch zu gestalten. Gerade bei Grundschulkindern hat man hiermit oft großen Erfolg. Lese gemeinsam mit deinem Kind Bücher zu Themen, die es interessieren, um seine Lese- und Rechtschreibkenntnisse zu verbessern. Oder gehe mit deinem Kind in die Natur und erkundet den Wald mit seiner Tier- und Pflanzenwelt.

Bei älteren Kindern kann es hilfreich sein, über die tägliche Routine zu sprechen: Braucht das Kind vielleicht einen anderen Rhythmus, um wieder besser lernen zu können? Möchte es nach der Schule erst eine Pause machen oder sich gleich an die Hausaufgaben setzen? Teenagern sollte hier ein gewisses Maß an Eigenverantwortung überlassen werden.

3. Realistische Ziele setzen

Motiviere dein Kind dazu, sich schulische Ziele zu setzen, die ihr beispielsweise auf einer Pinnwand festhaltet. Ist das Ziel erreicht, gibt es eine zuvor vereinbarte Belohnung. Gerade bei einem großen Lernpensum kann es helfen, dieses in kleine Etappenziele aufzuteilen. Auf diese Weise fühlt dein Kind sich nicht überfordert und kommt schneller zu Erfolgserlebnissen.

4. Gesprächsbereitschaft anbieten

Wie bereits erwähnt ist es überaus wichtig, dass du deinem Kind keine Vorhaltungen machst, sondern ihm Gesprächsbereitschaft signalisierst. Nicht immer ist kein Bock auf Schule eine reine Trotzreaktion. Manchmal stecken vielschichtige Probleme dahinter, die Handlungsbedarf erfordern. Wird dein Kind möglicherweise von seinen Mitschülern gemobbt und ausgegrenzt? Gibt es Probleme mit den Lehrern?

Lasse dein Kind wissen, dass du es unterstützt. Schaut gemeinsam, wie es deinem Kind in der Schule wieder besser ergehen kann. In extremen Fällen sind sogar ein Klassen- oder gar Schulwechsel zu diskutieren.

5. Elterliche Kontrolle

Bei allem Verständnis und aller Gesprächsbereitschaft obliegt dir dennoch die Verantwortung für die Zukunft deines Kindes. Das bedeutet, dass du nicht zulassen kannst, dass die Schule komplett schleifen gelassen wird. Erkundige dich wenn nötig bei den Lehrern oder bei den Eltern von Klassenkameraden, was den aktuellen Lernstoff sowie die Hausaufgaben anbetrifft.

Eine Möglichkeit wäre es z. B., dass die Lehrer das Hausaufgabenheft des Kindes auf Vollständigkeit prüfen und die Eltern dies bei Erledigung gegenzeichnen. Zugegeben, so viel Kontrolle mag niemand. Sie ist aber ein guter Motivator für mehr Eigeninitiative. Sobald das Kind wieder mehr Engagement zeigt und sich als zuverlässig erweist, können die Kontrollmaßnahmen selbstverständlich wieder gelockert werden.

YouTube video

Tipps für Schüler

Du hast momentan kein Bock auf Schule und möchtest wieder motivierter sein? Folgende Tipps können dir zu mehr Lernfreude sowie zu besseren Noten verhelfen:

6. Ein guter Start in den Tag

Du wirst am Morgen vom schrillen Piepton deines Weckers aus dem Tiefschlaf gerissen, eilst mürrisch ins Bad und schlingst dein Frühstück hastig hinunter, weil du schon wieder zu spät dran bist. Kommt dir dieses Szenario bekannt vor? Dass sich deine Motivation in Grenzen hält, ist kein Wunder. Auf eine solche Weise startet niemand gut in den Tag.

Achte daher darauf, dir deinen morgendlichen Ablauf ruhig und entspannt zu gestalten. Stelle dir eine angenehme Weckmelodie ein und stelle den Wecker ruhig 15 Minuten früher. Eine Viertelstunde kann am Morgen viel ausmachen! Genieße eine warme Dusche und bereite dir ein gesundes Frühstück zu. Du wirst feststellen, dass deine Laune viel besser sein wird und du dementsprechend motivierter zur Schule gehst.

7. Lerne gemeinsam mit Freunden

Gemeinsames Lernen macht viel mehr Spaß, als allein über dem Unterrichtsstoff zu brüten. Außerdem könnt ihr euch gegenseitig unterstützen, da jeder seine individuellen Stärken und Schwächen hat. Du kommst in Mathematik nicht zurecht? Möglicherweise können dir deine Freunde weiterhelfen. Du bist ein Ass in Naturwissenschaft? Dann erkläre deinen Freunden das neue Thema, das sie nicht verstanden haben.

8. Setze dir Zukunftsziele

Es mag sein, dass sich die Schule für dich im Moment absolut überflüssig und belastend anfühlt. Daher kann es helfen, wenn du dir vor Augen hältst, für welches größere Ziel sich das Durchhalten lohnt.

Du möchtest einmal Arzt oder Pilot werden? Dann benötigst du Abitur und ein Studium, um diese Pläne zu verwirklichen. Du willst eines Tages finanziell unabhängig sein? Auch für Selbstständige bildet eine gute schulische Ausbildung die Basis.

9. Sorge für einen Ausgleich in der Freizeit

Du hast kein Bock auf Schule, aber gleichzeitig scheint sich dein ganzes Leben nur um diese zu drehen? Vielleicht liegt genau hier das Problem. Auch Erwachsene brauchen einen Ausgleich, um im Berufsleben erfolgreich zu sein. Bei Schülern verhält sich das nicht anders. Daher solltest du dir ein Hobby suchen, das dich erfüllt und aus dem du neue Kraft schöpfen kannst.

10. Führe ein Erfolgstagebuch

Kein Bock auf Schule zu haben verschlimmert sich, wenn sich die Misserfolge häufen. Ist die Grundeinstellung ohnehin negativ, neigst du außerdem dazu, die kleinen Erfolge zu übersehen. Dabei gibt es diese bestimmt. Aus diesem Grunde lohnt es sich, ein Erfolgstagebuch zu führen.

Du hast als einziger Schüler die Antwort auf eine schwierige Frage gewusst? Dann schreibe dies auf. Deine Lehrer loben dich für deine Hilfsbereitschaft deinen Mitschülern gegenüber? Auch dies gehört ins Erfolgstagebuch.

Fazit: Kein Bock auf Schule muss kein Dauerzustand werden

Jedes Kind hat früher oder später mal kein Bock auf Schule. Als Elternteil liegt es jedoch in deiner Verantwortung, die Ursachen herauszufinden und dein Kind bestmöglich dabei zu unterstützen, eine Lösung zu finden. In unserer dreimonatigen Ausbildung zum Lerncoach werden dir die notwendigen Kompetenzen vermittelt.

Weiterhin möchten wir dir unser kostenloses E-Book mit dem Titel „Die 10 besten Tipps für Spaß und Erfolg beim Lernen“ empfehlen. In diesem kompakten Ratgeber erfährst du, auf welche Weise du dein Kind mit Spaß und Motivation durch seine Schulzeit begleiten kannst. Die 10 vorgestellten Tipps sind in der Praxis mehrfach erprobt.

GRATIS E-BOOK

Die 10 besten Tipps für 
Spaß und Erfolg beim Lernen

In unserem kostenlosen E-Book bekommst du 10 praxiserprobte Tipps, die dir dabei helfen, dein Kind optimal beim Lernen zu unterstützen.
JETZT GRATIS ANFORDERN
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down