Greator

Types of motivation: How to stay motivated in the long term

Reading time 10 minutes
Types of motivation: How to stay motivated in the long term

"I'm totally motivated!" When was the last time you said that sentence? Do you remember the feelings associated with it? Motivation is the quintessence of our actions. Without motivation, we would literally freeze. Each of your daily actions happens because of different motives that drive you to do certain things.

In common usage, the term motivation is predominantly positively associated with the achievement of personal goals. This is quite true, but the topic is much more complex. There are different types of motivation, which you can use in different ways.

What is motivation?

Motivation is the totality of all conscious and unconscious motives for which you perform certain actions. The term itself is of Latin origin:

lt. motus = movement

Motivation is therefore a kind of motor that sets us in motion. If you keep moving, you are motivated. Being motivated is closely related to the feeling of willpower, determination, perseverance and volition. In fact, the latter aspects must be added for motivation to lead to the desired result.

Why do you get up in the morning?

Motivation is of elementary importance in all areas of life. In order for it to be triggered, however, a sufficiently weighty incentive (motivator) is required. Let's take a very simple example to illustrate this: Why do you get up on Monday morning? Many people feel listless and listless at the beginning of the week. Yet very few of them stay in bed.

Possible reasons:

  • I depend on the job.
  • I want to advance my career.
  • To seize the day.
  • I don't want to let my colleagues down.
  • I'm looking forward to my work.

Of course, the basic needs such as hunger, thirst or the emptying of the oppressive bladder also play a supporting role when getting up in the morning. So you see that motivators can be completely different in nature. What drives one person to peak performance can be completely meaningless to another.

The difference between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation

Furthermore, it is important to distinguish where the motivation comes from. Does it come from deep within you or is the drive for your actions more external? Researchers now agree that there are two types of motivation: intrinsic and extrinsic. You can think of the two types as two opposite poles.

Intrinsic motivation

The intrinsic motivation comes from within yourself. It corresponds to your deepest inner desires. If you are intrinsically motivated, you are driven by your passions. The opinions of others don't matter. Intrinsic motivation is the most powerful kind of motivation. It inspires you to do your best and helps you achieve your goals in life.

Intrinsic motivation goes hand in hand with a feeling of Satisfaction along with it. It also makes you self-confident: I can do this! I want that! I can do this! These are the guiding principles of an intrinsically motivated person.

Extrinsic motivation

Extrinsic motivation comes from external incentives and factors. You do something to meet someone else's expectation. Through your behavior you try to gain advantages or avoid punishment. The main extrinsic motivators are usually material or financial. Sometimes, however, it is also about social recognition.

Example: You feel good in your body and are healthy. However, other people repeatedly tell you that you should lose a little weight. You follow this impulse in order to please others and to receive recognition. For your personal well-being, the weight loss would not have been necessary. You have followed an extrinsic motivation.

Extrinsic motivation depends on the current external factors. If the corresponding incentives fall away, it dwindles. It is self-explanatory that long-term success cannot be achieved in this way. Example: You take on a special task at work for a bonus payment. If the financial incentive is removed, you would no longer make an effort.

Are extrinsic and intrinsic motivation mutually exclusive?

No, this does not necessarily have to be the case. In practice, it is relatively common for both types of motivation to complement each other. Over time, however, it often happens that extrinsic incentives push intrinsic motivation into the background. This is particularly common among people who have turned their hobby into a profession.

Fulfilling your life's dream was once the intrinsic motivation. You gave everything to achieve that goal. Now you can live off your earnings. Suddenly must go to you pursue your former hobby to earn money. You want to satisfy your clientele, possibly you are also responsible for some employees.

In addition, the fear of failure circulates in the back of the mind, because professional self-employment always goes hand in hand with a certain risk. All these aspects gradually extinguish intrinsic motivation. This cannot be avoided entirely, otherwise money and recognition would have to be meaningless. To believe this would be unrealistic.

The goal is to maintain a balance between intrinsic and extrinsic motivation. The only way to do this is to keep listening to your inner voice: Why did you start? What do you really want to achieve?

The difference between motivation and volition

We have already defined what motivation is. However, this alone is not sufficient to put goals into practice. This requires the necessary will. This is where volition comes into play. Volition is therefore also known as implementation competence. Without the latter, it is not possible to turn desires into reality. No matter how motivated you are.

The process from motivation to volition is as follows:

  1. Desires, motives, good intentions > Motivation
  2. Setting Goals > Volition
  3. Planning > Volition
  4. Action > Volition
  5. Result > Volition

Have you ever wondered why some people, despite great motivation and tireless commitment, fail again and again to achieve their goals, while others manage the same project with ease? Most of the time it is the fault of the much quoted inner pig. This comes into play especially when you do not know your own competencies or do not know how to use them.

Volition is therefore not to be confused with dogged ambition. Rather, it is the wise use of your strengths and emotions is meant. For this reason, volition is also called the efficiency of the will.

Volition is based on the following five competencies:

  1. Prioritize: Identify what really gets you closer to your goal.
  2. Dealing with emotions: Learn to get over failure more easily.
  3. Planning ahead: Solve problems immediately, before they accumulate.
  4. Strong Self-confidenceBelieve in your inner strength and in your professional competence.
  5. Healthy self-discipline: Stay on the ball, even when things get difficult. Don't let yourself be distracted from your goals.

The difference to motivation explained by example

Volition and motivation are not the opposite of each other. Rather, the two aspects complement each other. Nevertheless, a distinction can be made on the basis of illustrative examples.

Example 1

You're inspired to write a novel. Your head is bubbling over with the most amazing ideas. The intrinsic motivation to realize this life goal is huge. Unfortunately, it stays with the dreaming. You sit in front of your desk and have no concept how to start. Then the doubts come, "This is a lot of work. Do I really want to put myself through this?"

Although the desire is great, you eventually give up in frustration. Motivation alone is not enough. It would have taken volition to make it happen. In this case, you would have developed a concept (plot), set writing goals, sought out test readers, and possibly already looked into the various publishing options.

Example 2

You want to clear out your apartment. The mess bothers you so much that you don't feel comfortable anymore. The furniture is broken and the walls could do with a fresh coat of paint. But when you come home from work in the evening, you're tired and don't have the energy to do anything about it. Although you desperately want a change, you remain inactive.

Here it shows again: Without volition it remains wishful thinking. If the latter had been available, you would have approached the project in a structured way. You would have sorted: What do I still need and what can be disposed of? You would have set yourself daily goals, e.g. on Monday you would tidy up the kitchen and on Tuesday the cellar. Without Volition you feel incapable of actively doing something against the disturbing condition.

The two directions of motivation ("away-from" and "towards")

In addition to the two incentive systems (extrinsic and intrinsic), a further distinction can be made between two motivational directions: "away-from" and "towards". The designation already gives an idea of what is meant here.

Away-from-Motivation

The so-called away-from-motivation is when you want to escape from an undesirable state. This can be, for example, a conflict at work or family quarrels. All of your actions are motivated by the goal of avoiding these conditions. The away-from-motivation is comparable to a kind of escape reaction.

Example: You take a different route to work so you don't run into the unpleasant work colleague already on the bus.

The away-from-motivation can be very powerful. Some people will do anything to escape their personal suffering. Good examples of the away-from-motivation are (surgical) cosmetic surgery or moving somewhere to start a new life.

Towards Motivation

Towards motivation embodies the complete opposite of away-from motivation. Instead of avoiding situations, you want to bring them about. Accordingly, they are mostly pleasant things.

Example: You have met a nice man / woman and are specifically looking for the conversation to get to know him or her better.

How do I find new motivation?

Find new motivation

Everyone feels unmotivated from time to time. However, if the condition persists over a long period of time, it can be very frustrating. Especially when unfinished tasks pile up. To find new motivation, you should first find out what exactly is blocking you from creating. There can be several possible reasons for this:

  • Overload
  • Fears
  • no or wrong targets
  • Conflicting values

To find the cause, you have to be honest with yourself. Even if unpleasant truths come to light. Let's say you've been promoted at work and now feel overwhelmed by the new responsibilities. Maybe you are paralyzed by the fear of not being able to cope with the growing responsibility. It's no wonder that your motivation begins to wane.

Once you have uncovered your personal motivation killers, you need to counteract them in a targeted manner. Let's stick with the example above. If you find yourself in a new professional position overwhelmed and anxious, you can take the following steps:

  • Get an overview of the tasks to be done and sort them by priority.
  • Set goals: What do I do and when?
  • Don't be afraid to take on tasks delegateif this is necessary.
  • Stay in contact with other people. Get support.
  • Strengthen your Self-confidenceYou have everything you need to master the tasks ahead.

Basically, it is important to keep focusing on your personal values to reflect on them. You can only gain motivation if your actions are in harmony with them. You will never be motivated to carry out a task that you actually dislike deep down. You can find more tips and advice on how to get and stay motivated here: https://greator.com/motivation-finden/

Motivational incentive through professional coaching

Sometimes you simply need external stimuli to get you motivated again. In this case, a professional Coaching might be the right thing for you. You will be given the knowledge you need to inner bastard to trick them. The topic Self-reflection plays a decisive role. changes need courage. This applies both in a private and professional context.

An Motivational Coaching puts you as a person in the foreground. The aim is to overcome blocking Beliefs to recognize and let go.

Example: When you were a child, someone once told you that you couldn't express yourself well verbally. Today, as an adult, you are unsafeas soon as you have to speak in front of other people. The motivation to try is correspondingly low. This is a self-fulfilling prophecy: Since you think you can't speak well, this is probably the case.

5 tips to increase your motivation in everyday life

Staying motivated in the daily grind is not that easy. It quickly happens that important projects are postponed or even completely pushed into the background. Fortunately, there are some helpful tips and tricks to prevent this:

1. the power of colours and music

It has long been scientifically proven that colours have an influence on our psyche. Make use of this knowledge! A red screen background increases your attention. Tough tasks are easier for you to handle. Blue, on the other hand, conveys a feeling of security. If you feel safe, you will make more courageous decisions. Dynamic background music also has a motivating effect.

2. planning is the be-all and end-all

Concrete planning is needed to turn wishful thinking into realistic goals. The more concrete, the better. For example, instead of simply talking about wanting to lose weight, you should give concrete figures, e.g. 15 kilos in 6 months. Divide the big goal into several small steps. Achieving the milestones is incredibly motivating.

Determine what you need to achieve the goal. Let's stick with the weight loss example: calculate your calorie needs and put together a nutrition plan. Stick to fixed training days and a fixed training duration. Most importantly, once the planning is done, get started. Today, not next week!

3. visualize your goals

Allow yourself to dream about your future: where will you be in life when you have this Target reached have? How great and strong will you feel? How fulfilling will your new everyday life be? Visualize all of this, preferably in the evening before you go to bed.

4th Coaching Course: Motivation at the push of a button

You are stuck in a motivation low and need stimulation from the outside? Our coaching course includes 6 motivating coaching videosThese will help you to actively work on your goals again. As soon as a low point threatens, you will learn how to motivate yourself at the push of a button:

5. your time is finite

Thoughts about the finiteness of life can bring about a change in thinking. Keep reminding yourself that your time is limited. Do you really want to waste it fussing over trivialities or doing a job that doesn't fulfill you? The thought of your own end motivates you to finally take the initiative. You decide what you want to do with your life.

Increase motivation at work / in the job

In hardly any area of life is motivation such a big issue as in the job. This applies equally to managers and employees. Extrinsic incentives are usually used to make work tasks more appealing (e.g. financial rewards or compensatory time off). If the prospect of reward is removed, this demotivates employees.

Even if extrinsic incentives are definitely justified in the job, intrinsic impulses should also be used. As a manager, you can find out how to motivate your employees to reach their full potential here: https://greator.com/mitarbeitermotivation/

As an employee, you should ask yourself if your job is really a calling for you. Even if this is not the case (at the moment), the job can possibly help you to achieve your actual goals. Keep in mind what the job is worth pursuing. Are you gaining valuable experience? Are you meeting interesting people? Can you prove your competences?

Why do you actually work? The following lecture from our Greator Festival can give you some clarity on this:

Find motivation problems through our free personality test

Only if you know what is slowing you down can you do something about it. Sometimes demotivation is rooted in your own personality structure as well as in entrenched thought patterns. A good way to expose these is to conduct a scientifically based personality test.

Therefore we would like to offer you at this point the free DISC personality test ...to your heart:

The test focuses on the four predominant types of behaviour and provides information on how they behave or are motivated in certain situations.

FREE WORKBOOK

A guide for your future
- Find your true vision

Do you know what really drives you at the core? With just three simple exercises, you will be able to visualize your energy, identify your desires, and define your biggest goal!
REQUEST NOW FREE OF CHARGE

GREATOR FESTIVAL 2022

29 & 30 JULY 2022 - LANXESS ARENA COLOGNE

2 days of unstoppable growth. At largest festival for personal development. Meet inspiring people from around the world and get swept up in the energy of the community.
100+
Speaker
10.000+
Like-minded
5+
Stages
EXPERIENCE MORE

FREE MINI COURSE

So you will be happier

You want a lead a happy and fulfilled life? Then check out this free mini-course and learn how to:

✓ go through life with more strength and joy
✓ focus on the good in your life
✓ attract more positive people through a positive aura
PARTICIPATE now for free
Reviewed by Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Like this article? Don't forget to share!

Recommended by Greator

GREATOR MAGAZINE
Greator SloganGreator Awards
Helpcenter
Imprint
Data privacy
GTC
Cookie settings
© copyright by Greator 2024
chevron-down

Greator

Arten der Motivation: Wie du langfristig motiviert bleibst

Arten der Motivation: Wie du langfristig motiviert bleibst

„Ich bin total motiviert!“ Wann hast du diesen Satz zuletzt gesagt? Erinnerst du dich an die Gefühle, die damit verbunden waren? Motivation ist die Quintessenz unseres Handelns. Ohne Motivation würden wir im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes erstarren. Jede deiner täglichen Handlungen geschieht aufgrund verschiedener Motive, die dich dazu antreiben, bestimmte Dinge zu tun.

Der Begriff Motivation ist im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch überwiegend positiv behaftet und mit dem Erreichen persönlicher Ziele verknüpft. Dies ist durchaus richtig, allerdings ist das Thema viel komplexer. Es gibt verschiedene Arten der Motivation, die du auf unterschiedliche Weise für dich nutzen kannst.

Was ist Motivation?

Unter Motivation versteht man die Gesamtheit aller bewussten und unbewussten Beweggründe, aus denen du bestimmte Handlungen ausführst. Der Begriff selbst ist lateinischen Ursprungs:

lt. motus = Bewegung

Motivation ist also eine Art Motor, der uns in Bewegung setzt. Wer in Bewegung bleibt, der ist motiviert. Motiviert zu sein ist eng verwandt mit dem Gefühl von Willens- und Entschlusskraft, Durchhaltevermögen und Volition. Tatsächlich müssen letztgenannte Aspekte hinzukommen, damit die Motivation zu dem angestrebten Ergebnis führt.

Warum stehst du morgens auf?

Motivation ist in allen Lebensbereichen von elementarer Bedeutung. Damit sie ausgelöst wird, bedarf es jedoch eines ausreichend gewichtigen Anreizes (Motivator). Nehmen wir uns zur Verdeutlichung doch mal ein sehr simples Beispiel zur Hilfe: Warum stehst du am Montagmorgen auf? Viele Menschen fühlen sich zu Wochenbeginn antriebs- und lustlos. Dennoch bleiben die wenigsten im Bett liegen.

Mögliche Gründe:

  • Ich bin auf den Job angewiesen.
  • Ich möchte meine Karriere vorantreiben.
  • Um den Tag zu nutzen.
  • Ich möchte meine Kollegen nicht im Stich lassen.
  • Ich freue mich auf meine Arbeit.

Selbstverständlich spielen beim morgendlichen Aufstehen auch die Grundbedürfnisse wie Hunger, Durst oder die Entleerung der drückenden Blase eine tragende Rolle. Du siehst also, dass Motivatoren vollkommen unterschiedlicher Natur sein können. Was den einen Menschen zu Höchstleistungen antreibt, kann für den anderen vollkommen bedeutungslos sein.

Der Unterschied zwischen intrinsischer und extrinsischer Motivation

Weiterhin ist zu unterscheiden, woher die Motivation stammt. Entspringt sie deinem tiefsten Inneren oder liegt der Antrieb für deine Handlungen doch eher im Äußeren? Mittlerweile sind sich Forscher einig, dass es zwei Arten der Motivation gibt: intrinsische und extrinsische Motivation. Du kannst dir die beiden Arten wie zwei gegensätzliche Pole vorstellen.

Intrinsische Motivation

Die intrinsische Motivation kommt aus dir selbst. Sie entspricht deinen tiefsten inneren Wünschen. Wer intrinsisch motiviert ist, wird von seinen Leidenschaften angetrieben. Die Meinung anderer spielt keine Rolle. Intrinsische Motivation ist die mächtigste Art der Motivation. Sie beflügelt dich zu Bestleistungen und hilft dir, deine Lebensziele zu erreichen.

Mit der intrinsischen Motivation geht ein Gefühl der Zufriedenheit einher. Zudem macht sie dich selbstbewusst: Ich kann das! Ich will das! Ich schaffe das! Dies sind die Leitgedanken eines intrinsisch motivierten Menschen.

Extrinsische Motivation

Extrinsische Motivation entsteht durch äußere Anreize und Faktoren. Du machst etwas, um die Erwartungshaltung eines anderen Menschen zu erfüllen. Durch dein Verhalten versuchst du, Vorteile zu gewinnen oder Strafen zu vermeiden. Die extrinsischen Hauptmotivatoren sind meist materieller oder finanzieller Natur. Manchmal geht es aber auch um gesellschaftliche Anerkennung.

Beispiel: Du fühlst dich in deinem Körper wohl und bist gesund. Andere Menschen sagen dir jedoch wiederholt, du solltest ein wenig abnehmen. Du folgst diesem Impuls, um den anderen zu gefallen und Anerkennung zu erhalten. Für dein persönliches Wohlbefinden wäre die Gewichtsabnahme nicht nötig gewesen. Du bist einer extrinsischen Motivation gefolgt.

Extrinsische Motivation ist von den aktuellen äußeren Faktoren abhängig. Fallen die entsprechenden Anreize weg, schwindet sie. Dass sich auf diese Weise kein langfristiger Erfolg einstellen kann, ist selbsterklärend. Beispiel: Du übernimmst eine Sonderaufgabe im Job für eine Bonuszahlung. Fällt der finanzielle Anreiz weg, würdest du dich nicht mehr anstrengen.

Schließen extrinsische und intrinsische Motivation einander aus?

Nein, das muss nicht zwingend der Fall sein. In der Praxis kommt es relativ häufig vor, dass beide Motivationsarten einander ergänzen. Im Laufe der Zeit geschieht es jedoch häufig, dass extrinsische Anreize die intrinsische Motivation in den Hintergrund rücken lassen. Dies ist besonders häufig bei Menschen zu beobachten, die ihr Hobby zum Beruf gemacht haben.

Die Erfüllung des Lebenstraums war einst die intrinsische Motivation. Du hast alles gegeben, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Nun kannst du von deinen Einkünften leben. Plötzlich musst du deinem einstigen Hobby nachgehen, um Geld zu verdienen. Du möchtest deine Kundschaft zufriedenstellen, möglicherweise trägst du auch die Verantwortung für einige Mitarbeiter.

Im Hinterkopf kursiert zudem die Angst vor dem Scheitern, denn berufliche Selbstständigkeit geht stets mit einem gewissen Risiko einher. All diese Aspekte löschen die intrinsische Motivation allmählich aus. Ganz lässt sich dies nicht vermeiden, ansonsten müssten Geld und Anerkennung bedeutungslos sein. Dies zu glauben wäre unrealistisch.

Ziel ist es, das Gleichgewicht zwischen intrinsischer und extrinisischer Motivation zu halten. Dies gelingt nur, indem du dich immer wieder auf deine innere Stimme besinnst: Warum hast du angefangen? Was möchtest du wirklich erreichen?

Der Unterschied zwischen Motivation und Volition

Was Motivation ist, haben wir bereits definiert. Diese allein ist allerdings nicht ausreichend, um gesteckte Ziele in die Tat umzusetzen. Hierzu bedarf es den notwendigen Willen. An dieser Stelle kommt die Volition ins Spiel. Volition ist daher auch unter dem Begriff Umsetzungskompetenz bekannt. Ohne Letztere ist es nicht möglich, Wunschvorstellungen in die Tat umzusetzen. Ganz gleich, wie motiviert du bist.

Der Ablauf von der Motivation zur Volition sieht wie folgt aus:

  1. Wünsche, Motive, gute Absichten > Motivation
  2. Zielsetzung > Volition
  3. Planung > Volition
  4. Aktion > Volition
  5. Resultat > Volition

Hast du dich auch schon einmal darüber gewundert, warum manche Menschen trotz großer Motivation und unermüdlichen Engagements immer wieder an der Umsetzung ihrer Ziele scheitern, während anderen dasselbe Vorhaben spielend leicht gelingt? Meist ist der viel zitierte innere Schweinehund schuld. Dieser tritt vor allem dann in Erscheinung, wenn du deine eigenen Kompetenzen nicht kennst oder nicht anzuwenden weißt.

Volition ist demzufolge keineswegs mit verbissenem Ehrgeiz zu verwechseln. Vielmehr ist der kluge Einsatz deiner Stärken und Emotionen gemeint. Aus diesem Grunde wird die Volition auch als Wirkungsgrad des Wollens bezeichnet.

Volition basiert auf folgenden fünf Kompetenzen:

  1. Setzen von Prioritäten: Erkenne, was dich deinem Ziel wirklich näher bringt.
  2. Umgang mit Emotionen: Lerne Misserfolge leichter zu verwinden.
  3. Vorausschauende Planung: Löse Probleme sofort, bevor sie sich anhäufen.
  4. Starkes Selbstvertrauen: Glaube an deine innere Stärke und an deine fachliche Kompetenz.
  5. Gesunde Selbstdisziplin: Bleibe am Ball, auch wenn es mal schwierig wird. Lasse dich nicht von deinen Zielen ablenken.

Der Unterschied zur Motivation beispielhaft erklärt

Volition und Motivation sind nicht das Gegenteil voneinander. Vielmehr ergänzen sich die beiden Aspekte. Anhand bildgebender Beispiele lässt sich dennoch eine Abgrenzung vornehmen.

Beispiel 1

Du bist inspiriert, einen Roman zu schreiben. In deinem Kopf sprudeln die tollsten Ideen nur so über. Die intrinsische Motivation, dieses Lebensziel zu verwirklichen, ist riesig. Leider bleibt es bei der Träumerei. Du sitzt vor deinem Schreibtisch und hast kein Konzept, wie du beginnen sollst. Dann kommen die Zweifel auf: „Das ist ganz schön viel Arbeit. Will ich mir das wirklich zumuten?“

Obwohl der Wunsch groß ist, gibst du schließlich frustriert auf. Motivation allein ist eben nicht ausreichend. Es hätte Volition gebraucht, um das Vorhaben umzusetzen. In diesem Fall hättest du dir ein Konzept (Plot) erarbeitet, dir Schreibziele gesetzt, dich um Testleser bemüht und dich möglicherweise schon mit den verschiedenen Veröffentlichungsmöglichkeiten befasst.

Beispiel 2

Du möchtest deine Wohnung entrümpeln. Dich stört die Unordnung so sehr, dass du dich gar nicht mehr wohlfühlst. Die Möbel sind kaputt und die Wände könnten auch mal wieder einen frischen Anstrich vertragen. Wenn du abends von der Arbeit kommst, bist du jedoch müde und hast keine Energie mehr, dich um das Vorhaben zu kümmern. Obwohl du dir unbedingt eine Veränderung wünschst, bleibst du untätig.

Hier zeigt es sich wieder: Ohne Volition bleibt es beim Wunschdenken. Wäre Letztere vorhanden gewesen, dann wärst du strukturiert an das Vorhaben herangegangen. Du hättest sortiert: Was brauche ich noch und was kann entsorgt werden? Du hättest dir Tagesziele gesetzt, z. B. am Montag wird die Küche aufgeräumt und am Dienstag der Keller. Ohne Volition fühlst du dich unfähig, aktiv etwas gegen den störenden Zustand zu unternehmen.

Die zwei Richtungen der Motivation („weg-von“ und „hin-zu“)

Neben den zwei Anreizsystemen (extrinsisch und intrinsisch) lässt sich weiterhin zwischen zwei Motivationsrichtungen unterscheiden: „weg-von“ und „hin-zu“. Die Bezeichnung lässt bereits erahnen, was hiermit gemeint ist.

Weg-von-Motivation

Von der sogenannten Weg-von-Motivation ist die Rede, wenn du einem unerwünschten Zustand entfliehen möchtest. Hierbei kann es sich beispielsweise um einen Konflikt auf der Arbeit oder Familienstreitigkeiten handeln. Alle von dir ausgeführten Handlungen sind durch das Ziel motiviert, diese Zustände zu vermeiden. Die Weg-von-Motivation ist vergleichbar mit einer Art Fluchtreaktion.

Beispiel: Du nimmst einen anderen Weg zur Arbeit, um nicht bereits im Bus auf den unangenehmen Arbeitskollegen zu treffen.

Die Weg-von-Motivation kann sehr mächtig sein. Manche Menschen unternehmen alles, um ihrem persönlichen Leidensdruck zu entkommen. Gute Beispiele für die Weg-von-Motivation sind (operative) Schönheitseingriffe oder Umzüge, um irgendwo ein neues Leben zu beginnen.

Hin-zu-Motivation

Die Hin-zu-Motivation verkörpert das komplette Gegenteil der Weg-von-Motivation. Statt Situationen zu vermeiden, möchtest du sie gezielt herbeiführen. Dementsprechend handelt es sich meist um angenehme Dinge.

Beispiel: Du hast einen netten Mann / eine nette Frau kennengelernt und suchst gezielt das Gespräch, um ihn oder sie besser kennenzulernen.

Wie finde ich neue Motivation?

Neue Motivation finden

Jeder Mensch fühlt sich ab und zu mal unmotiviert. Hält der Zustand jedoch über einen längeren Zeitraum an, so kann dies sehr frustrierend sein. Besonders dann, wenn sich unerledigte Aufgaben anhäufen. Um neue Motivation zu finden, solltest du erst einmal herausfinden, was genau dich in deinem Schaffen blockiert. Hierfür kann es mehrere mögliche Ursachen geben:

  • Überforderung
  • Ängste
  • keine bzw. falsche Ziele
  • Wertekonflikte

Um die Ursache zu finden, musst du ehrlich zu dir selbst sein. Selbst dann, wenn hierbei unangenehme Wahrheiten zutage treten. Nehmen wir an, du bist im Job befördert worden und spürst nun, dass du mit den neuen Aufgaben überfordert bist. Vielleicht lähmt dich auch die Angst, der wachsenden Verantwortung nicht gerecht zu werden. Kein Wunder, dass die Motivation allmählich schwindet.

Hast du erst einmal deine persönlichen Motivationskiller entlarvt, gilt es, diesen gezielt etwas entgegenzusetzen. Bleiben wir bei obigem Beispiel. Wenn du dich in einer neuen beruflichen Position überfordert und ängstlich fühlst, kannst du folgende Schritte unternehmen:

  • Verschaffe dir einen Überblick über die zu erledigenden Aufgaben und sortiere sie nach Priorität.
  • Setzte dir Ziele: Was erledige ich wann?
  • Scheue dich nicht, Aufgaben zu delegieren, sofern dies nötig ist.
  • Bleibe im Austausch mit anderen Menschen. Hole dir Rückhalt.
  • Stärke dein Selbstbewusstsein: Du hast alles, was du brauchst, um die anstehenden Aufgaben zu meistern.

Grundsätzlich ist es wichtig, dich immer wieder auf deine persönlichen Werte zu besinnen. Nur wenn deine Handlungen mit diesen im Einklang stehen, kannst du Motivation gewinnen. Eine Aufgabe, die du im tiefsten Inneren eigentlich ablehnst, wirst du niemals motiviert ausführen können. Mehr Tipps und Hinweise, wie du motiviert wirst und bleibst, findest du hier: https://greator.com/motivation-finden/

Motivationsansporn durch professionelles Coaching

Manchmal braucht man einfach Impulse von außen, um wieder motiviert zu werden. In diesem Fall könnte ein professionelles Coaching das richtige für dich sein. Du bekommst das nötige Wissen vermittelt, um deinen inneren Schweinehund auszutricksen. Auch das Thema Selbstreflexion spielt eine entscheidende Rolle. Veränderungen benötigen Mut. Dies gilt sowohl im privaten als auch im beruflichen Kontext.

Ein Motivationscoaching stellt dich als Mensch in den Vordergrund. Es geht darum, blockierende Glaubenssätze zu erkennen und loszulassen.

Beispiel: In deiner Kindheit hat dir mal jemand gesagt, du könntest dich verbal nicht gut ausdrücken. Heute als Erwachsener bist du unsicher, sobald du vor anderen Menschen sprechen musst. Entsprechend gering ist die Motivation, es zu versuchen. Eine sich selbst erfüllende Prophezeiung tritt ein: Da du glaubst, nicht gut reden zu können, ist dies vermutlich auch so.

5 Tipps, um deine Motivation im Alltag zu steigern

Im Alltagstrott motiviert zu bleiben, ist gar nicht so leicht. Schnell geschieht es, dass wichtige Vorhaben aufgeschoben werden oder gar gänzlich in den Hintergrund rücken. Glücklicherweise gibt es jedoch einige hilfreiche Tipps und Tricks, um dies zu verhindern:

1. Die Kraft der Farben und der Musik

Dass Farben Einfluss auf unsere Psyche haben, ist wissenschaftlich längst bewiesen. Mache dir dieses Wissen zunutze! Ein roter Bildschirmhintergrund steigert deine Aufmerksamkeit. Mühevolle Aufgaben gehen dir so leichter von der Hand. Blau hingegen vermittelt ein Gefühl von Sicherheit. Wer sich sicher fühlt, trifft mutigere Entscheidungen. Auch dynamische Hintergrundmusik wirkt motivierend.

2. Planung ist das A und O

Damit aus Wunschvorstellungen realistische Ziele werden, bedarf es einer konkreten Planung. Je konkreter, desto besser. Statt beispielsweise einfach nur davon zu sprechen, abnehmen zu wollen, solltest du konkrete Zahlen nennen, z. B. 15 Kilo in 6 Monaten. Teile dir das große Ziel in mehrere kleine Teilschritte ein. Das Erreichen der Etappenziele motiviert ungemein.

Lege fest, was du brauchst, um das Ziel zu erreichen. Bleiben wir beim Beispiel der Gewichtsabnahme: Errechne deinen Kalorienbedarf und stelle dir einen Ernährungsplan zusammen. Halte dich an feste Trainingstage und eine feste Trainingsdauer. Das Wichtigste: Sobald die Planung abgeschlossen ist, fängst du an. Heute und nicht nächste Woche!

3. Visualisiere deine Ziele

Erlaube dir von deiner Zukunft zu träumen: Wo wirst du im Leben stehen, wenn du dieses Ziel erreicht hast? Wie großartig und stark wirst du dich fühlen? Wie erfüllend wird der neue Alltag sein? Stelle dir all dies bildlich vor, am besten abends vor dem Schlafengehen.

4. Coaching Kurs: Motivation auf Knopfdruck

Du steckst in einem Motivationstief und benötigst Ansporn von außen? Unser Coachingkurs umfasst 6 motivierende Coachingvideos, die dir helfen, wieder aktiv an deinen Zielen zu arbeiten. Sobald ein Tief droht, lernst du, wie du dich auf Knopfdruck motivieren kannst:

5. Deine Zeit ist endlich

Gedanken an die Endlichkeit des Lebens können ein Umdenken bewirken. Halte dir immer wieder vor Augen, dass deine Zeit begrenzt ist. Willst du sie wirklich damit verschwenden, dich über Nichtigkeiten aufzuregen oder einem Job nachzugehen, der dich nicht erfüllt? Der Gedanke an das eigene Ende motiviert, endlich die Initiative zu ergreifen. Du entscheidest, was du aus deinem Leben machst.

Motivation am Arbeitsplatz / im Job steigern

In kaum einem Lebensbereich ist die Motivation so ein großes Thema wie im Job. Dies gilt gleichermaßen für Führungskräfte als auch für Angestellte. Meist werden extrinsische Anreize genutzt, um die Arbeitsaufgaben reizvoller zu gestalten (z. B. finanzielle Belohnungen oder Freizeitausgleich). Fällt die Aussicht auf Belohnung weg, demotiviert dies die Mitarbeiter.

Auch wenn extrinsische Anreize im Job durchaus ihre Berechtigung haben, sollte zusätzlich mit intrinsischen Impulsen gearbeitet werden. Wie du als Führungskraft deine Mitarbeiter motivierst, ihr volles Potenzial auszuschöpfen, erfährst du hier: https://greator.com/mitarbeitermotivation/

Als Arbeitnehmer solltest du dich fragen, ob dein Beruf wirklich eine Berufung für dich darstellt. Selbst wenn dies (im Moment) nicht der Fall ist, kann der Job dir möglicherweise helfen, deine eigentlichen Ziele zu erreichen. Halte dir vor Augen, wofür es sich lohnt, dem Job nachzugehen. Sammelst du dort wertvolle Erfahrungen? Lernst du interessante Menschen kennen? Kannst du deine Kompetenzen beweisen?

Warum arbeitest du eigentlich? Folgender Vortrag von unserem Greator Festival kann dir hierüber Klarheit verschaffen:

YouTube video

Motivationsprobleme finden durch unseren kostenlosen Persönlichkeitstest

Nur wenn du weißt, was dich ausbremst, kannst du gezielt etwas dagegen unternehmen. Manchmal ist die Demotivation in der eigenen Persönlichkeitsstruktur sowie in festgefahrenen Gedankenmustern begründet. Eine gute Möglichkeit, diese zu entlarven, ist die Durchführung eines wissenschaftlich fundierten Persönlichkeitstests.

Daher möchten wir dir an dieser Stelle den kostenlosen DISG-Persönlichkeitstest ans Herz legen:

Der Test nimmt die vier vorherrschenden Verhaltenstypen in den Fokus und gibt Aufschluss darüber, wie diese sich in bestimmten Situationen verhalten bzw. motivieren lassen.

Mach den Greator Test

Nur 3 Minuten
Wissenschaftlich fundiert
Zum gratis test
Geprüft von Dr. med. Stefan Frädrich

Artikel gefallen? Vergiss nicht zu teilen!

Empfohlen von Greator

Greator Slogan
Presse
Impressum
Datenschutz
AGB
Cookie Einstellungen
© copyright by Greator 2021
chevron-down